Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-25-2012, 10:39 AM   #1

Share |

Open End Wrenches, Should I buy?

Hello Everyone, so it seems Sears is having a huge tool sale this weekend and one of the things I have been looking at for a while is a full set of dual open end wrenches that they have which includes almost all the sizes they carry for about $140. I have a full set of combination wrenches so this would only be a "fun" buy. I have a gift card that has been burning a hole in my wallet. My question is, are these kind of wrenches really useful? Or will they just sit in box. I am not a pro mechanic or wrencher but I do most of my own house repairs and automotive repairs as well. I also seem to be the one that helps friends fix their cars. Any thoughts?

cessna1466u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 01:34 PM   #2

Cessna,
All depends on what you do. Hard to predict which ones will suit you better. I have a good variety of wrench types, and spend most of my mechanical time restoring old motorcycles. I seem to gravitate towards the combination wrenches. If I am putting together a small tool wrap to carry on a dirt bike for emergency type repairs, then I go the open end route to have more sizes available with a fewer number of wrenches.
Mike Hawkins

firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 10:59 PM   #3
In a little over my head

IMO, if you have combination wrenchs, the open ends are a waste. Think about a set of "Gearwrenches". And the most bang for the buck with them is the set with the ratcheting boxes (different sizes) on both ends. Another cool hand tool to have is an impact driver that you hit with a hammer, and a selection of bits.
ratherbefishing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 11:25 PM   #4

I don't care for open end wrenches for the most part. I prefer combination wrenches as they are longer, better leverage.