Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-24-2012, 09:33 AM   #1

Share |

oiling Bostitch air nailers

Yep, Ive read the instructions that came with my nailers. But, at best, it's a little sketchy about how much and when to oil the nailers.

I'm not a professional, so I tend not to use them continuously all morning long.

Anyone have experience with using the oil type Bostitch air nailers? Under working conditions, how much is too much...and how much is too little. Even if you don't know how much I'll be using them, your experience and use and maintenance will help me figure out how much I'll have to oil them relative to my usage.

Thanks, Ed
Ed911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 09:38 AM   #2

A couple of drops everytime you use it is enough.
If you do not use it often I would suggest once your done with it to add a drop or two and store it so the air inlet is in the up right position to prevent rust.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
mae-ling (02-24-2012)
Old 02-24-2012, 09:57 AM   #3

Thanks, Joe. I appreciate your comments.
Old 02-24-2012, 04:59 PM   #4
journeyman carpenter

just as joe mentioned. if your using a gun non stop all day for several days it never hurts to re-oil half way through the day either especially with framing guns or coil nailers. if you notice oil on the material that you are working with when shooting nails open up the gun and wipe it down with a clean rag or paper towel it will soak up the extra oil which will stain finish grade material