Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-15-2008, 11:19 PM   #16
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Share |
Default

Never buy a Fluke meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by thekctermite View Post
My suggestion would be that next time you're going to buy a tool, do a little research first since manufacturer location is obviously very important to you. Don't take the word of a guy that works the counter at a hardware store or supply house...Like he knows! That way you don't feel duped.

Instead of bagging on Fluke, why don't you make this a productive post and make a recommendation for an American made alternative with a reputation for high quality products?
The guy that told me was the salesman of a monster meter distribtor.
He should have known his stuff.

OK. Simpson, CPS,. Thrmal Products, Tif, Robinaire, .

Will you remove the stop work order now?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 08:04 AM   #17
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Never buy a Fluke meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Will you remove the stop work order now?
Sure, but not the fine.
Termite is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 08:08 AM   #18
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Never buy a Fluke meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by thekctermite View Post
Sure, but not the fine.

You'll never take me alive! lol
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 05:08 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
Default

Never buy a Fluke meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
This isn't on me. I am fully aware how much crap comes in from China.

I specifically asked if it was made here and i was told it was. So I got two good reasons for being POed, being lied to and spending $180 on a meter of low quality.

Had i known the Fluke was made in China i would never have bothered to buy it. I would have bought another UEI meter.

after reading this post i sent UEI a email and ask if there products was 100% american made and here is the answer. it was a no so now what are you gonna do for a meter??


: made in USA
Monday, October 27, 2008 11:06 AM



From:
"Cathy Kingston" cathyk@ueitest.com




To:
js2743@




Good morning, jason....
No....we have our products made elsewhere....China etc....

Customer Service
UEi
This message is intended for the sole use of the addressee only. It may contain privileged or confidential information that is exempt from disclosure under applicable law. If you received this message in error please notify the originator immediately and delete this message. If you are not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that you may not disclose or distribute any information contained within this message. UEi is not liable for any content alterations of this message by a third party. This outbound message and attachments have been scanned for viruses.

-----Original Message-----
From: UEi Ship Info
Sent: Saturday, October 25, 2008 8:53 PM
To: Cathy Kingston
Subject: FW: made in USA


-------------------------------------------
From: jason[SMTP:js2743@]
Sent: Saturday, October 25, 2008 8:52:48 PM
To: Reception
Subject: made in USA
Auto forwarded by a Rule



is your product 100% american made?
js2743 is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 05:15 PM   #20
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Never buy a Fluke meter


too, too funny, js

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 06:30 PM   #21
Member
 
bofusmosby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 396
Default

Never buy a Fluke meter


Well, my profession is in electronics, and have owned and used a fluke meter for many many many years with no problem. As far as being made in China.....It would be very difficult to go to the store and NOT buy something from China. Personally, I believe they manufacture some of the biggest pieces of crap on the market, but if its not being made here, what do you do?
bofusmosby is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 07:36 PM   #22
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Never buy a Fluke meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by js2743 View Post
after reading this post i sent UEI a email and ask if there products was 100% american made and here is the answer. it was a no so now what are you gonna do for a meter??


: made in USA
Monday, October 27, 2008 11:06 AM



From:
"Cathy Kingston" cathyk@ueitest.com



To:
js2743@




Good morning,
jasonjason
....

No....we have our products made elsewhere....China etc....

Customer Servi
UEi

UEi

ssage.
UEi
is not liable for any content alterations of this message by a third party. This outbound message and attachments have been scanned for viruses.


-----Original Message-----
From:
UEi
Ship Info
Sent: Saturday, October 25, 2008 8:53 PM
To: Cathy Kingston
Subject: FW: made in USA


-------------------------------------------
From: jason[SMTP:js2743@]
Sent: Saturday, October 25, 2008 8:52:48 PM
UEi
Reception
Subject: made in USA
Auto forwarded by a Rule



is your product 100% american made?
Oh I knew that already. The point I was trying to make that I was taking heat for using UEI from other HVACers. So when I finally decide to get one (a Fluke is what I am referring to) I find out it's no better than UEI. So since there is no diff why not just stick with what I have been buying, UEI.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 11:29 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 94
Default

Never buy a Fluke meter


Sorry... as an electronic tech for over 20 years... Fluke is one of the best "bullet proof " meters you'll ever find. Just my humble opinion.
sv9779 is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 11:43 PM   #24
Member
 
bofusmosby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 396
Default

Never buy a Fluke meter


Yup, I lost count years ago as to how many time my meter has been dropped, stepped on, and kicked across the room. STILL, never gave me any problems.

Good to see another electronic tech on this site. Been at it going on 32 years.

Last edited by bofusmosby; 11-11-2008 at 11:44 PM. Reason: addition
bofusmosby is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 11:58 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 94
Default

Never buy a Fluke meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by bofusmosby View Post
Yup, I lost count years ago as to how many time my meter has been dropped, stepped on, and kicked across the room. STILL, never gave me any problems.

Good to see another electronic tech on this site. Been at it going on 32 years.

Yep, I also started out 32 years ago as a refrigeration tech after dropping out of electronics in college. Got back into electronics about 5 years later. Worked at it about 20 years. Now back in refrigeration. Still have my Fluke and my old Simpson 260-5 and 260-6, Not to mention all my bench test equipment.
sv9779 is offline  
Old 11-12-2008, 01:18 AM   #26
Member
 
bofusmosby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 396
Default

Never buy a Fluke meter


It makes it nice to have two professions.
bofusmosby is offline  
Old 03-09-2010, 07:38 PM   #27
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Never buy a Fluke meter


Here is but another example of Flukes screw ups.

I have friends whose meters are frying right out of the box...Fluke ain't what it used to be. It's just resting on it's laurels





]
H 1ACRecall















Important!
Safety notice and recall for the Fluke 1AC-I VoltAlertTM Voltage Tester


Updated March 8, 2010 March, 2010
Dear Fluke Customer:
In cooperation with the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, Fluke is voluntarily recalling its Fluke 1AC-I VoltAlertTM voltage tester, a product that was first released for sale on September 29, 2009. The affected model number is listed in the table below. If you own a Fluke 1AC-I (1AC-A1-I), please stop using it and send it back to Fluke for a replacement unit. If you are not the primary user of the 1AC-I please pass this notice along to the appropriate people within your organization.
Product marking: Description: 1AC-AI
FLUKE-1AC-I VoltAlertTM Voltage Tester
This recall does not include VoltAlert models 1AC-II, 1LAC-II and LVD2, none of which includes the battery check button or the Fluke logo on its clip, as shown below on the recalled units pictured.
Identifying the product

To properly identify your 1AC-I tester as a recalled product, look for the four product characteristics below.
Description of the problem

The testers can fail to give an indication of live voltage, resulting in the operator falsely believing the electrical power is off, posing a risk of serious injury or death from electrical shock or thermal burns.
Actions

  1. Stop using the Fluke 1AC-I even if you have not experienced problems.
  2. Verify your 1AC is affected by this recall using the images above.
  3. Return your 1AC-I for a free replacement of either a Fluke 1AC-II or LVD2.
    • Visit www.fluke.com/1ACRecall or call (888) 97-FLUKE (35853), 6:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Pacific Time Monday - Friday. Follow the instructions provided and we will send you a prepaid mailer to return your unit at no cost. If contacting Fluke outside the operation hours of 6:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Pacific Time, follow the instructions provided to receive your prepaid mailer.
      OR
    • Ship your 1AC-I voltage tester with your name and complete mailing address (using the form on the back of this page) to:
      Fluke Corporation
      Attn: 1AC-I Customer Returns
      1420 75th St SW Bldg 4
      Everett, WA 98204
  4. Indicate which replacement product you would like Fluke to provide. a. Fluke 1AC-II b. Fluke LVD2. For a description of these two products see the back of this letter or visit ww.fluke.com/1ACrecall
  5. When Fluke receives your 1AC-I, we will send you, free of charge, the Fluke model 1AC-II or LVD2 that you selected. Note: If no selection is made, Fluke will automatically send a 1AC-II.
We are undertaking this voluntary recall because we place tremendous importance on our customer's safety and the reputation of our products. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused by this action.
Sincerely,
Barbara Hulit
President, Fluke Corporation


SearchCorporation

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 03-09-2010 at 07:43 PM.
hvaclover is offline  
Old 03-09-2010, 08:04 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Unhappy

Never buy a Fluke meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
From the looks of the leads in that picture, it was set to read AMPS, not Volts.

Those meters are supposed to have a safety fuse installed, and what do you bet that fuse was bypassed to ensure pyrotechnics like that?

The take-home message here is not "never buy a fluke' but should be "always read and follow directions" when using this test equipment.
...And have some rudimentary (Hope there is such a word) knowledge of the workings of electricity.!
spark plug is offline  
Old 03-09-2010, 08:13 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Arrow

Never buy a Fluke meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Was told by counter guy Fluke was made here.

I pay for meter and go to truck and open package. On back of cardboard backing it says "Made in China". On the meter body it's says "Designed in USA". that's is misleading. I called the customer service line and Fluke rep verifies almost apologetically that it is China made.

I am a buy American guy. For years i use UEI and took heat form other HVACers for using them. I saw no reason to pay so much for a meter if the most I'll ever measure is 220v.

But now with more jobs being lost overseas it's more important than ever that if I am not going to be a hypocrite I gotta start practicing what I preach.

Fluke mislead me with their labeling so why not show some old Fluke safety footage to give them a taste of their own medicine?
In the third Paragraph you state that "The most you'll ever measure is 220v". So far as I know, there are no A/C compressors running on 480V. Besides, your "Fluke" meter is used to measure Amps. and shorted windings on the compressor coil!!
spark plug is offline  
Old 03-09-2010, 09:32 PM   #30
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Never buy a Fluke meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
in the third paragraph you state that "the most you'll ever measure is 220v". So far as i know, there are no a/c compressors running on 480v. Besides, your "fluke" meter is used to measure amps. And shorted windings on the compressor coil!!
460 v comps abound.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could I move my Meter & Power Drop to the Side of my house? jamiedolan Electrical 9 07-28-2010 05:16 PM
Does it matter how close your panel is to your meter? jamiedolan Electrical 10 10-18-2008 04:38 AM
Is it normal to change the upper line at the meter when running new supply line? twilightcall Plumbing 3 08-08-2008 11:10 AM
Meter ratings Stubbie Electrical 3 04-02-2008 10:12 PM
200A Upgrade - Meter Socket Location Question bjones Electrical 2 11-12-2007 03:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.