Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2012, 09:13 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need an air compressor drain plug installed


I have an old air compressor with a tank that does not have a drain plug underneith.

It was a replacement tank from 20 years ago.

How can I drill, tap and install one so it doesn't leak?

Or is it time to just junk it out all together?

stewartlong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 09:28 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,924
Rewards Points: 2,320
Default

Need an air compressor drain plug installed


you would have to have a bung welded on.

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 09:29 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,101
Rewards Points: 3,320
Default

Need an air compressor drain plug installed


Time to junk it.
It's not legal to drill or weld on a pressure vessel unless you go have it static tested some place.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 10:55 AM   #4
journeyman carpenter
 
woodworkbykirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 2,722
Rewards Points: 2,060
Default

Need an air compressor drain plug installed


junk it or take it to a local authrorized air tool repair shop
woodworkbykirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 08:13 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,954
Rewards Points: 2,088
Default

Need an air compressor drain plug installed


Compressors aren't very expensive any more, and there are lots to choose from. I wouldn't put a dime into one that's more than 20 years old.
md2lgyk is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
250V 30amp 3 post plug on a bandsaw, change the plug to a 4 post plug question benjeremiah Electrical 3 10-04-2012 11:43 AM
removed old romex (added new wire) and added a plug doesn't work now? Limit54 Electrical 9 11-08-2009 09:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.