Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-16-2012, 02:03 PM   #1
DIY Padawan

Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

My FIRST Miter Saw - Seeking Advice

Okay, Forum Community NOOB here.

I had originally posted my question in a previous (year+ old) discussion thread ... but it was suggested to me that I start my own new discussion thread/topic so as not to confuse any previous subjects/discussions.

I am just starting to get into wanting to do a lot of DIY projects - to begin with, strictly on a hobby/"let's-see-what-I-can-do" level. I am starting to compile a big ole' folder worth of ideas and plans for various hobby-level projects - from my first ambition to build a variation of a multi-purpose/modular workbench ... to building my own custom MAME Arcade Cabinet/Machine ... to various small items (wine rack, end table, DVD case, etc.) and other fun little projects.

So, being the newbie to the "craftsman" world (no Sears pun or reference intended), I am obviously excited to get started - while at the same time not wanting/being able to take out a second mortgage or sell bodily fluids in purchasing my (for all intents and purposes) first power tools. So, naturally, I've been checking out Harbor Freight power tools. (I am fortunate enough to live close to several store locations - having already visited a couple of them to check out the tools "in person" (vs only online or within their flyers)).

I'll be completely honest, money IS a factor right now. One of the power tools I am wanting to include as part of my "getting started" tool accumulation is a miter saw. So, in addition to researching various sources on/about miter saws (uses, static/sliding, brands, various retailers, craig's list, etc.), I've have been looking at the Harbor Freight 12" Sliding Compound Miter Saw.

12" Sliding Compound Miter Saw With Laser Guide - Chicago Electric Power Tools - Item#98194