Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-06-2013, 05:25 PM   #1

Share |

Makita or Fein Grinder?

I am in the market for a basic sized grinder (probably 4-1/2inches...would consider going down to 4" or up to 5"). Money is not a factor for this purchase. What I am looking for is 1) safety and 2) quality.

I was looking most closely at the Makita 4-1/2" 9564PC 13Amp grinder. However, after nearly settling on that one someone told me that Fein makes an arguably better grinder with better safety features. I am just now researching Fein but am looking most closely at the Fein WSG 10-115 T Tip Start 4-1/2" angle grinder.

I make my living operating on people who are careless with powertools so safety is of the utmost importance. I know that all tools are safe when used correctly but the more safety features the better...things like a soft start, anti-kickback mechanisms, safety locking mechanisms to prevent accidental starts, ergonomic design that is easier to handle, blade guards, quick braking systems, as well as trigger type switches that stop the grinder if you drop it as paramount in my decision.

With that said, what is the safest and nicest 4"-5" angle grinder out there? As for uses, it will be a basic all-purpose grinder. I will be cutting some tile but also using it for a wide variety of purposes as they arise in life.

Thanks a lot for your assistance!

DrDIYer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 06:34 PM   #2

Makita or Fein Grinder?

I was just introduced to Metabo grinders, which I previously had not even heard of.

What are your feelings on those? How do they rank as far as quality and safety compared to Makita and Fein?

Thanks!

DrDIYer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 01:46 AM   #3
In a little over my head

Makita or Fein Grinder?

My Metabo is excellent. A welder friend of mine buys only Metabo.