DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Makita Circular Saw Q

8K views 6 replies 5 participants last post by  TBFghost 
#1 ·
Hey,

Im just starting to look for a new circular saw. I started out looking around, and found that Makita has 2 Circular saws. Now i personally love the Makita brand.

They have there regular 7 1/4" saw, witch i have used, and personally love the older models, they had some much guts its great.

They also have a new 7 1/4 Magnesium saw. Never saw it before.

What i'm wondering is, why would i need to pay an extra $75 for the Magnesium? Is it worth the extra money?

I'm an apprentice, just starting to get the basic power tools i need to do work. So im looking for something that will last and take a good amount of punishment.

Any advice would be great.

Thanks

-Bill

#2 ·
I too like the Makita brand. I just bought a Makita circ saw from HD and ending up returning it because I felt the blade was too far out of alignment; it was out by 3/16 and I often guide the saw with a speed square. I think it was the 5007MG for $159. All my other Makita tools are made in Japan. This one is the first one that I bought that was made in China and it's most likely my last. Anyway, that's my Makita story.

#3 ·
Don't know for sure, but I suspect the magnesium saw is just a lot lighter than the "regular" saw. Only you can decide if that makes it worth the extra money.

I too am partial to Makita tools. I have one of their 16-5/16" circular saws I'm using to build a log house. I wish there was a magnesium version of that one - it weighs something like 28 pounds.

#4 ·