Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-09-2014, 03:32 PM   #16
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,030
Share |
Default

Looking for a plasma cutter


Yes if it is a large scaled operation. What the OP is wanting to do. Those kind of setups use a bottle of Inert gas. The system that a commercial operation uses to make the compressed gas so that it will work properly with a commercial Plasma Cutter. They would never be able to purchase or have the space required for it.

If the OP is talking about 3 phase. They would be using it inside a commercial space or overseas. Again, you are talking $$$. Especially since they are talking about playing around with 2" stock. You just do not lift stock that size up by hand.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 03:38 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 252
Default

Looking for a plasma cutter


Clean, dry compressed air is typically use for plasma cutting, why would you need an inert gas for cutting?
rustyjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 04:03 PM   #18
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,682
Default

Looking for a plasma cutter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Anti-wingnut View Post
I worked in heavy steel fabrication for 20 years. Some processes like gouging special stainless steel pipe will use inert gas to increase the heat and minimize the amount of carburized material. But 99.9% of plasma cutting is with compressed air. Could you be mistaking air filters and desiccants for something else? Could you be viewing machines in a particular industry? Could you be mistaking a MIG or TIG machine for a plasma cutter? Or could you be wrong?
Ayuh,.... Wrong, or confused, I'd say,...

For 2" plate, I'd break out the Oxy/ Ac torches, 'n change out to a Big tip,....
As noted, 2" is some Big stuff, much more than a square foot, 'n yer not gonna throw it 'round, by hand,...

Last edited by Bondo; 04-09-2014 at 04:07 PM.
Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 04:18 PM   #19
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,516
Default

Looking for a plasma cutter


Ferrous metals compressed air is fine.
Any non-ferrous metal or low ferrous alloys, inert gas.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 06:08 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 773
Default

Looking for a plasma cutter


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Yes if it is a large scaled operation. What the OP is wanting to do. Those kind of setups use a bottle of Inert gas. The system that a commercial operation uses to make the compressed gas so that it will work properly with a commercial Plasma Cutter. They would never be able to purchase or have the space required for it.

If the OP is talking about 3 phase. They would be using it inside a commercial space or overseas. Again, you are talking $$$. Especially since they are talking about playing around with 2" stock. You just do not lift stock that size up by hand.
I'm afraid you have no idea of what your talking about.
Anti-wingnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 06:26 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 773
Default

Looking for a plasma cutter


Quote:
While different gasses can be used for plasma cutting, most people today use compressed air for the plasma gas. In most shops, compressed air is readily available, and thus plasma does not require fuel gas and compressed oxygen for operation.
http://www.lincolnelectric.com/en-us...cs-detail.aspx
Anti-wingnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 10:16 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 252
Default

Looking for a plasma cutter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
Ferrous metals compressed air is fine.
Any non-ferrous metal or low ferrous alloys, inert gas.
So you're saying you can't cut aluminum with air?
rustyjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 10:57 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 773
Default

Looking for a plasma cutter


Gasses give a better edge than air cuts, but either will cut.

http://www.thefabricator.com/article...tting-aluminum
Anti-wingnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 04:52 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 180
Default

Looking for a plasma cutter


i found mine at a estate sale. didnt know powermax until i got it home. its a powermax 350. think it sold new for around $800.00 or $900.00. looks brand new and came with some consumables. now i did have to give the guy $72.00 for it. i asked him if it was a plasma cutter and he said id know more about it then him. he said it should be worth $75.00 and i reached into my wallet, only had $72.00 on me, he said = you can get more, i started to leave and he said ok give me the $72.00. had no idea that powermax was a leading maker. and no i wont sell it for $75.00.
hotrod351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 07:35 PM   #25
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,261
Default

Looking for a plasma cutter


The Longevity unit advertises that it will cut "up to 2" thick steel at 100 amps 220 volts/3 phase with a 60% duty cycle and uses compressed air supplied at 45--65 psi. I have a whole bunch of experience with plasma torches, mig welders, stick, tig, etc. and on and on. Using this Longevity machine to cut 2" thick steel is going to do two things for sure: 1) suck up a whole bunch of electricity, even with 220 v @ 3 ph., 2) stating that it will need 45-64 psi of compressed air is one thing but the specs DO NOT state at what CFM the air must be supplied to this plasma unit. I have a 1 HP air compressor that I know can supply 45-65 psi of compressed air each time you press the trigger of a blow off gun, but not for long. As you use the air you would need a compressor that could keep giving you this 45-65 psi at a constant flow rate for as long as you have the plasma torch operating. And for a plasma torch you will need clean dry air. This is not something you get from your everyday shop compressor. I have a plasma cutter in my home shop and there is a dual filter/dryer set-up on it. Then you have to go back to the 60% duty cycle. How long, in distance, do you plan on cutting this 2" steel? With a 60% duty cycle you can cut a maximum of 6 minutes out of a ten (10) minute period then have to let the machine cool down for 4 minutes. And the cost of this unit--I won't disclose that here, but please do your homework before spending that much money on a unit to make sure it is what you need- - -and not just want.
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 08:09 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 233
Default

Looking for a plasma cutter


Why would anyone want to spend the big bucks on a machine to cut thick plate when an oxy/acetylene torch would do the same job at a small fraction of the price?

This makes no sense...

My line burner can cut thick plate so smooth you'd almost think it was sheared off...

PaulBob is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to PaulBob For This Useful Post:
davido30093 (07-29-2014)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.