Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2014, 12:22 PM   #1
jkk
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 96
Share |
Default

How to rewire old grinder


We found an old grinder at an auction. It has 3 wires from the motor and uses a capacitor. Unfortunately, some of the wiring is missing. How do I rewire this thing?

jkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 12:36 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,842
Default

How to rewire old grinder


Make, model, a picture of the wiring and name plate would be a big help.

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 01:30 PM   #3
jkk
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 96
Default

How to rewire old grinder


It appears to be a Central Machinery TDS250, trying to get some pictures.
jkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 01:47 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,842
Default

How to rewire old grinder


Look like this one.
http://www.made-in-china.com/showroo...h-Grinder.html
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 04:38 PM   #5
jkk
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 96
Default

How to rewire old grinder


Pix of motor and capacitor with wire colors.
Attached Thumbnails
How to rewire old grinder-motor1.jpg   How to rewire old grinder-motor2.jpg  
jkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 04:54 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,842
Default

How to rewire old grinder


Someone's going to also need a picture of the name plate.
Why is the cap. off?
Need to know if it's 120/240.
I would have just brought it to a local electric motor shop and let them figure it out.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 04:56 PM   #7
jkk
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 96
Default

How to rewire old grinder


It's 120VAC. It came like this, cap detached.
jkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 07:46 PM   #8
jkk
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 96
Default

How to rewire old grinder


OK, I've learned something. Single phase motors have 3 wires: Common, Run and Start. Largest resistance between any 2 wires means those 2 are Run and Start, other wire is Common. Least resistance between Common and 1 of the other 2 wires means that that other wire is the Run wire. By process of elimination, the remaining wire is the Start wire.
Capacitor is in series with the start wire and AC; AC also connects to the RUn wire.

this assumes an internal cutoff/centripetal switch that cuts out the Start path after spinup.
jkk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jkk For This Useful Post:
PaliBob (02-06-2014)
Old 02-06-2014, 12:24 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 45
Default

How to rewire old grinder


This diagram says what you just said:

Name:  image-875810748.jpg
Views: 56
Size:  19.2 KB

-
Good luck, Joe

Focused2 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Focused2 For This Useful Post:
PaliBob (02-06-2014)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will these angle grinder accessories work with this Dewalt angle grinder? abefroman Tools 1 08-14-2013 06:09 PM
Makita or Fein Grinder? DrDIYer Tools 8 05-12-2013 12:26 PM
New grinder help again Epoxyman Electrical 12 11-10-2012 05:37 AM
New PC Grinder, now old PC Grinder hyunelan2 Tools 1 04-07-2011 07:43 PM
angle grinder question itin1200 Tools 8 07-13-2010 07:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.