Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2012, 07:38 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 101
Share |
Default

HF cement mixer problem


I bought the mixer - 3.5 cubic ft. 1/3 HP motor - about a year and a half ago for a project I'm just now getting around to. I assembled the unit, everything went together OK. When I flip the power switch the motor just hums. I need to manually turn the drum to get it turning. It's like the motor doesn't have enough initial "umph" to get the drum turning. Could the motor be bad or need a tune-up? The mixer sat in the barn on gravel (dry) for the year and a half. Maybe the brushes or something? All parts seem to turn smoothly manually. Any ideas? Thanks

Jack E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 09:08 PM   #2
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,502
Default

HF cement mixer problem


OOPs, if it's this Mixer it only has a 90 day guarantee.

__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 08:18 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,649
Default

HF cement mixer problem


i think ALL of their stuff is 90day exchange. 30 day money back.

OP, you may not have enough power to get it going.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 08:36 AM   #4
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,170
Default

HF cement mixer problem


A lot of single phase motors are capacitor start, meaning they use a capacitor to get the motor running. If the capacitor is bad, the motor can be started by hand, but will not self start. You should be able to check the motor nameplate to see if it is a capacitor start motor, and there are ways to test the capacitor (beyond my knowledge). A new capacitor is probably not very expensive, but you will probably need the parts diagram to figure out how to remove and replace the old one.
Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Daniel Holzman For This Useful Post:
Jack E (10-10-2012)
Old 10-06-2012, 09:20 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 101
Default

HF cement mixer problem


Thanks for the suggestion. I'll check about the capacitor. Also, maybe some type of bench test of the motor.
Jack E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 11:48 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ava, MO
Posts: 30
Default

HF cement mixer problem


I can't imagine using a fractional horsepower motor for mixing cement. Even if it is working optimally, it's not enough juice for the job and you'll be struggling with it all the time. I'd recommend a rental. Maybe sell the one you have on craigslist or ebay.
lynxpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 03:50 PM   #7
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,502
Default

HF cement mixer problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Holzman View Post
.....If the capacitor is bad, the motor can be started by hand, but will not self start..........
I think there is a very high probability that Daniel has nailed the problem.
  • Open the Link I posted in post #2
  • Verify that this is your HF Cement Mixer
  • Click on the "Product Manual" button
  • Access the Motor and inspect the 30 uf Capacitor
  • Remove the Capacitor and verify it's functionality
  • If the Capacitor is questionable get a commercial replacement
Let us know what happens
.
Attached Thumbnails
HF cement mixer problem-hft_mixer_schematic.png  
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery

Last edited by PaliBob; 10-07-2012 at 04:31 AM. Reason: sp
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to PaliBob For This Useful Post:
Jack E (10-10-2012)
Old 10-06-2012, 04:08 PM   #8
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,310
Default

HF cement mixer problem


That HF mixer I commented on in THIS THREAD "occasionally" did the same thing. That's when I quickly learned NOT to overload it.

A 1/3 hp mixer is not a pro tool. If you treat it gingerly it works fine.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 05:12 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: outside ocala fl
Posts: 3,362
Default

HF cement mixer problem


If i am wrong here someone please correct me but as a word of warning isn't it capacitors that hold there charge even if disconnected and can knock you on your butt or am I thinking of something else.
ToolSeeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 05:25 PM   #10
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,310
Default

HF cement mixer problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by ToolSeeker View Post
If i am wrong here someone please correct me but as a word of warning isn't it capacitors that hold there charge even if disconnected and can knock you on your butt or am I thinking of something else.
You got that right. Electrical is not my forte but I learned that lesson the hard way.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kwikfishron For This Useful Post:
ToolSeeker (10-06-2012)
Old 10-06-2012, 08:38 PM   #11
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,170
Default

HF cement mixer problem


Yes indeed, capacitors can hold a charge for a very long time, and if you are not familiar with appropriate safety precautions when testing them, best to find someone who is before you become a casualty.
Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Daniel Holzman For This Useful Post:
Jack E (10-10-2012), ToolSeeker (10-06-2012)
Old 10-06-2012, 10:33 PM   #12
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

HF cement mixer problem


If you have an analog VOM you can test the capacitor yourself. Or any motor repair place will do it for you. Is this something you can do?
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 09:01 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 101
Default

HF cement mixer problem


Hello all - The start capacitor arrived today ($9.00) - installed it - and the mixer started up like it's suppose to Thanks for getting me started down the right path and thanks for the reminder about discharging the capacitor before handling. Those details can be important. I'll file this fix for future reference

Jack E is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jack E For This Useful Post:
ToolSeeker (10-13-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5/8" Fireboard (Paint) meets 1/2" Cement Board (Tile) LeviDIY Building & Construction 9 02-09-2010 09:41 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 06:26 PM
Rotten cement - skim coat or board? BradG Building & Construction 1 11-25-2007 02:25 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 01:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.