Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-31-2008, 08:21 AM   #1

Share |

Help Buying Air Tools! :)

I'm getting close to finishing my basement - wish I had taken pictures along the way to post in the project section (perhaps I'll just go with the finished product) ...

but was thinking about getting an air compressor and nailer for trim work - figured it would be much easier, plus I wouldn't mind having a nail gun around for future "light" projects.

I'm relatively new to DIY projects, but consider myself to be modestly handy with a willingness to learn (addicted to the Home Depot seminars and have a stack of project books).

I've seen the following 'deals' and was wondering if anyone had any helpful comments ... both of features and price ...

Campbell Hausfeld Compressor Kit & Nailer
http://www.canadiantire.ca/browse/pr...romSearch=true

Campbell Hausfeld Mini Twinstack Compressor/Nailer
http://www.canadiantire.ca/browse/pr...romSearch=true

also ... any opinions between oil and oil-less?!? opinions on electric compressors? to be honest, I don't really know much about air tools ... but the birthday is coming up and thought this might be a great addition.

njchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2008, 12:40 PM   #2
Oldguy

Using an air compressor can become an addiction. You will most likely use it for things you never imagined. Spend a little more money and buy an oil lubed compressor. I highly recommend the Makita brand, as they are quiet (the noise of a compressor can get old real fast) Check the prices on Amazon.

ASE certified master auto tech, Retired.
Rehabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2008, 08:04 PM   #3
Floor Sweeper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehabber View Post
Using an air compressor can become an addiction. You will most likely use it for things you never imagined.