DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   Tools (http://www.diychatroom.com/f29/)
-   -   Generators. Opinions please? (http://www.diychatroom.com/f29/generators-opinions-please-161694/)

Greenie 10-31-2012 12:19 AM

Generators. Opinions please?
 
I Am trying to get opinions and suggestions on a generator to keep in the garage until needed for power outages.

Would be runnings items for emergency purposes such as fridge/freezer, washing machine, lights, tv/radio, computers, microwave, chargers, etc.

I was thinking a liquid propane run 6000w generator. I was figuring would last longer, not require the changing of spoiled gas, and i could keep a propane tank handy alot longer But I wanted to get some opinions and suggestions on any and all generator.

Thanks

joecaption 10-31-2012 01:20 AM

Happen to own a tractor? Reason I ask is there's generators that can run off of the PTO off of the tractor.
Do you already have gas at your home?
If not and your planning on just using something like a 20 lb. tank to run it, it's not going to be running for long.

Greenie 10-31-2012 01:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by joecaption
Happen to own a tractor? Reason I ask is there's generators that can run off of the PTO off of the tractor.
Do you already have gas at your home?
If not and your planning on just using something like a 20 lb. tank to run it, it's not going to be running for long.

No tractor. California. Earthquakes. Etc... We do have gas but that usually shuts off in a quake. 20lb tank genie vs. a 4-5 gal gas genie. Propane would still last longer. No? And u can have 2 or 3 propane tanks on hand at all times and Witt gas you need to replace it as it goes bad. No?

SeniorSitizen 10-31-2012 01:46 AM

Good idea for the reasons you suggested if the weight of that size generator isn't a portability problem.

Arnold Ziffel 10-31-2012 09:38 PM

I have a gasoline generator, and keep 40 gallons of gas treated with fuel stabilizer on hand (in my barn, 75 feet from my house). Fuel stabilizer supposedly keeps fuel usable for a year, two years if you put in a double load of it.

According to Generator Joe (http://www.generatorjoe.net/html/PropaneNGUse.html)
a 20-pound propane tank will run a 5000-watt generator at half load for 8 or 9 hours, and you'll probably wind up needing more than a half load (2500 watts). That means that 3 tanks are not likely to last you even 24 hours at a load of, say, 4,000 watts. Propane tanks are also a lot harder to get refilled during an emergency. You can get gas tanks filled at any gas station that doesn’t also have a power failure.

I guess the gas is somewhat more risky (although I've been storing gas in my garage/barn for 20 years). However, the gas has other uses. I use it for my lawn mowers, snow blower and other power equipment. And every six months, I pour the gas into my cars, five gallons at a time, and refill the gas cans.

In other words, I think that gasoline gives me more flexibility, and the added cost is really only the cost of the fuel stabilizer, because I know that I will use the gasoline one way or the other.

Getting a permanent, full-sized external propane tank installed and connecting it to a generator works best, but the cost is much higher, especially if you don’t use the propane for anything else but your generator.

gregzoll 10-31-2012 09:53 PM

I do not have one, nor have a Snow Blower. Our power if it does go out, is only out for maybe 2 hours, unless we have a Ice storm, then maybe at the most 18 hours in our city. Now if I lived in the country, had Ameren, or lived in Chicago, then it would be a different story.

Now I do own a Chainsaw, which if you live anywhere, it along with a genset go hand in hand if you live in an area that sees frequent power outages.

Arnold Ziffel 10-31-2012 10:08 PM

"Our power if it does go out, is only out for maybe 2 hours, unless we have a Ice storm, then maybe at the most 18 hours in our city."

If your power never goes out for more than 18 hours, then three propane tanks will probably do the trick. You can always ration power by not running the generator continuously if you are going to see no more than 18 hours.

I guess you have to decide whether your power outages are only going to last two hours, 18 hours or 5 days.

If I had only two-hour long power outages, I wouldn't worry about a generator.

gregzoll 10-31-2012 10:50 PM

Who uses Propane in the city, other than for a gas grill. I would rather put money into other stuff, then something that is going to sit around more doing nothing, than someone collecting welfare.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 AM.