DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Framing Nailer -HELP-

5K views 14 replies 7 participants last post by  jschaben 
#1 ·
Hello,

I'm a newbie and I'm looking to buy a nailer to do my framing work for the basement. Can someone please recommend a good reliable framing nailer?

Thank you in advance everyone!

#2 ·
First--look for one that has easily available nails----

I bought a Porter Cable several years back---I needed a back up gun and it was cheap---

My good gun was stolen shortly after that----the Porter able has served me well----lots of use--no problems.

#4 ·
Bostich are good,but the nails are expensive---Never used the other two that you mentioned--

You will not put much wear and tear on whatever gun you buy---so a lighter --cheaper gun should serve you well----Hitachi--Senco---Bostich--Pasload are all premium pro guns---if they are in your budget a pro gun will last you a lifetime---but perhaps a waste of money for occasional use for household projects.

Reactions: bcdinh
#5 ·
Hi oh'mike,

I found this great link that talks all about framing nailer "http://www.toolsofthetrade.net/industry-news.asp?sectionID=0&articleID=649074&artnum=1". What do you think of it? I'm thinking of going for the Paslode 3-1/2 or Senco SN902XP as what you suggested. Although the Max SN883RH2 is very tempting too because it has good review from the author :)

Thanks a lot oh'mike

#6 ·
Paslode, Bostich, Senco, Hitachi, Porter Cable all make good stuff. Considering that a professional framer will drive more nails in a month than most DIY will do in a lifetime, you won't go wrong with any name brand. I have a Porter Cable that has framed several sheds and a couple additions. Probably 3-4 boxes of nails. Still works good as new. When my carpenter buddy (a Bostich/Paslode/Senco owner) was using it on my roof, he said "Wow, that's a nice gun." Whatever you buy, oil daily and try not to drop it off the ladder.

#8 ·