Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-26-2012, 06:07 PM   #1

Share |

First power saw?

I'm new to this whole thing, just bought my first house (a 200-year-old farmhouse) and I'm absolutely loving all the DIY projects. I've got a decent set of basic tools, but no power tools except (obviously) a drill.
What should my first power saw be? I can't decide if I'd get more use out of a circ saw, jigsaw, or reciprocating saw. I'm leaning toward circ saw but basically waiting for an excuse to get one.
Thoughts? Or is there something else I should be eyeing?

NYCbianchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 06:47 PM   #2
DIY staff

First power saw?

Get the circular saw--buy one with the blade on the drivers side--if you are right handed)(blade left) that is a tool used for so many projects---You want to be able to see the blade without leaning over the motor--

Get a well made one--you should have that tool for many years---

Old 05-26-2012, 06:52 PM   #3

First power saw?

There's going to be dozens of tools your going to need but a ciruler saw is a must have.
If your going to be doing trim then you'll need a compound mitre saw. A 10" siding saw would be a miimum size to buy. A 10" reguler saw will really limit what you can cut.
Every job you do will bring on the need for more tools.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 07:43 PM   #4
DIY staff

First power saw?

This is how it starts---the tool collection!
Old 05-26-2012, 07:49 PM   #5

First power saw?

Woo hoo!
Old 05-26-2012, 09:25 PM   #6
In a little over my head

First power saw?