Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-18-2010, 10:53 AM   #1

Share |

First Chain Saw

Hey Guys - I have another thread going over the the 'Landscape' area (Brush/Vines/Small Trees) but my main question for you is that I need to get my first chain saw to cut down the brush that's discussed in that thread.

Know that I have never used a chain saw before I dont want to get one thats too powerful, but I also don't want a wimpy POS either. Can you guys recommend some exact models that would be good for me?
tb582 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 11:23 AM   #2

First Chain Saw

Those are some pretty decent sized trees to cut if this is your 1st time
The problem in many cases is when the tree starts to fall
If it falls in the wrong direction it can damage property or kill you
Another problem is the wind picking up & blowing the tree over in the wrong direction as you are cutting it

An 18 inch saw is a pretty standard size
But it needs to be long enough to go thru the tree you are cutting
So you need to know the diameter of the tree

I bought a Husqvarna model with a 28" blade & a 20" blade
I cut quite a bit of wood & had a tree trunk ~54" across that I needed to cut up

I actually use sawzall to cut smaller trees down
Blade is easily replaced in case it gets stuck
And the sawzall was only ~$80
I tie the tree off in the direction I want it to fall - actually pulling it in that direction 1st
I then cut most of the way around the tree
Then I use my truck to pull the tree down, or if smaller by hand
I've topped 5 trees around my property using this method

B4:

After

One on the left topped, one on the right started

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 11:56 AM   #3

First Chain Saw