Dustelss Power Sanding Systems - Tools - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-18-2005, 11:43 AM   #1
Yes Master

Rewards Points: 25
Question

Dustelss Power Sanding Systems

Hi everyone,

I’m a newbie here, but I’ve been painting since 1979. I’ve done mostly high end custom work and I’m currently an employee for the largest decorators/designers company in my area running their new painting branch. It’s fun and demands perfection, which I love.

I have a bank remodeling job to do mostly during business hours with a time frame of two weeks with fines thereafter. There’s a massive amount of very old wallpaper removal with a heavy brittle glue base. These walls need to be brought up to paint grade and I have a Ben Moore rep on the way. I’m hoping we can prime the glue with oil and skim with lightweight compound. The glue removal will damage the surface thus skimming anyway so locking in the glue is looking like a good alternative.

My question is about sanding the compound. Dust is a major issue. Have any of you used the new dustless sanding equipment on the market? Ex. “The Porter Cable-Loveless Power Sanding System,” or similar power dustless equipment. Cost of equipment is not an issue and I’m hoping one of these systems will solve the problem of a massive amount of dust otherwise.

Thanks in advance for your replies. This board looks like a lot of fun and is a great resource offering invaluable information. All my best wishes to the owner and all the members. I look foreword to posting more as time allows.

Mark

Advertisement

Last edited by MasterStrokes; 09-22-2005 at 08:46 PM.
MasterStrokes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2005, 07:40 PM   #2
aka:awesomedell

Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via MSN to housedocs