Drills & Torque ...Crazy... - Tools - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2012, 04:08 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Drills & Torque ...Crazy...


Is it me or has anyone else noticed that drills don't show how much torque they can produce?

I was out looking for a drill and found it hard to compare one with the other. Drills show their RPM's, but make no mention to their torque output. Why is this? All drills have different gearing and therefore it would be nice to know how much torque a drill can perform?

Drills seem to only show mainly two things:
1) RPM of the drill
2) AMPS

Well what good is that? So hopefully someone can enlighten me. I suppose based on the RPM and AMPS you can probably estimate the torque output...but still. I have to ask.

Jason

Advertisement

JasonCA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 06:43 AM   #2
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,826
Rewards Points: 2,286
Default

Drills & Torque ...Crazy...


Ayuh,.... More amps, equals more Power...

Advertisement

Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 09:47 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 255
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Drills & Torque ...Crazy...


Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonCA
Is it me or has anyone else noticed that drills don't show how much torque they can produce?

I was out looking for a drill and found it hard to compare one with the other. Drills show their RPM's, but make no mention to their torque output. Why is this? All drills have different gearing and therefore it would be nice to know how much torque a drill can perform?

Drills seem to only show mainly two things:
1) RPM of the drill
2) AMPS

Well what good is that? So hopefully someone can enlighten me. I suppose based on the RPM and AMPS you can probably estimate the torque output...but still. I have to ask.

Jason
Lower the rpm the more torque their is. More amps Is more torque too but rpms makes a bigger differance. Go to bosch's website. They list the torque of their drills on inch lbs. look at their corded drills and you will see how a 1100tpm drill makes 279inch lbs while a 0-850 makes 373 and the higher amped 0-850 makes 472. The 0-550 model makes a whopping 767 w/ 8 Amps. Most bosch corded drills are made in switzerland and are quite nice! http://www.boschtools.com/Products/T...spx?catid=1570

Last edited by toolaholic; 10-18-2012 at 12:52 PM.
toolaholic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 02:02 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 255
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Drills & Torque ...Crazy...


And all amps(aka motor ratings) are not created equally. Milwaukee corded drills typically pull more amps under load then their competitors.
toolaholic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 09:55 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: outside ocala fl
Posts: 3,825
Rewards Points: 2,686
Default

Drills & Torque ...Crazy...


I think if you go on the manufactures website you can get the torque ratings.
ToolSeeker is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
horsepower vs torque av-geek Tractors & Mowers 1 06-04-2012 09:17 AM
Kobalt USA and Gearwrench USA torque wrench opinions toolaholic Tools 2 05-21-2012 08:14 PM
Torque Letter? bigmacfann Electrical 14 08-11-2010 11:40 AM
Torque on a receptacle screw? KE2KB Electrical 13 03-09-2009 04:35 PM
Torque mr500 Electrical 9 03-27-2008 11:51 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts