Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-13-2013, 08:56 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Craftsman Air Compressor Won't Run


I have a Craftsman electric 15 gallon air compressor, horizontal. Model 916-167242. It was plugged into the neighbor's house while we were putting up a fence and tripped the breaker. He reset the breaker before I had a chance to turn off the compressor. As soon as he did, the compressor started then immediately stopped. Now it won't turn on. I found the manual online and there is no mention of any fuse. I've read something online about a "run capacitor". I'm unfamiliar with that, but I'm a quick study and will be looking into that momentarily.

Any suggestions for me in the meantime?

Thanks much,

Mark

machouinard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 09:12 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,388
Rewards Points: 106
Default

Craftsman Air Compressor Won't Run


http://www.mastertoolrepair.com/sear...p-p-22886.html
That style of motor does not have a start cap.

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 09:15 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: outside ocala fl
Posts: 3,468
Rewards Points: 42
Default

Craftsman Air Compressor Won't Run


Did anyone look for a reset button?
ToolSeeker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 09:20 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Craftsman Air Compressor Won't Run


I have since discovered there is no run capacitor on this machine.

There does not appear to be a reset switch either.
machouinard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 09:26 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,388
Rewards Points: 106
Default

Craftsman Air Compressor Won't Run


Try something simple.
Drain the air out of the tank and see it will now start.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 09:29 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Craftsman Air Compressor Won't Run


I've drained the tank already. I'm stumped.
machouinard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 10:33 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Craftsman Air Compressor Won't Run


So there is no fuse in the compressor. No run capacitor. I've tried multiple outlets, with and without extension cord(s). Could flipping the breaker while the power switch is on simply fry this thing?
machouinard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 10:35 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Craftsman Air Compressor Won't Run


How do the wires look? Charred burnt looking at al?
jburchill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 10:45 PM   #9
Lord of Slums
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Detroit Mi
Posts: 737
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Craftsman Air Compressor Won't Run


tripped breaker for reason, not farmilair with your machine, the ones i torn down were junk that was unrepairable, or simple part more than whole new compressor
mj12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 09:36 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Craftsman Air Compressor Won't Run


Quote:
Originally Posted by machouinard View Post
I have a Craftsman electric 15 gallon air compressor, horizontal. Model 916-167242. It was plugged into the neighbor's house while we were putting up a fence and tripped the breaker. He reset the breaker before I had a chance to turn off the compressor. As soon as he did, the compressor started then immediately stopped. Now it won't turn on. I found the manual online and there is no mention of any fuse. I've read something online about a "run capacitor". I'm unfamiliar with that, but I'm a quick study and will be looking into that momentarily.

Any suggestions for me in the meantime?

Thanks much,

Mark
Not sure if this will be helpful but there is a recall on the 15 gal Craftsman compressor. I have the same compressor, 3HP /1.5 HP running 150 p.s.i. Apparently the recall says the motor can catch fire. I recieved the recall probably 4 months ago. But due to it running fine I never sent it in. Maybe it damaged the motor somehow.

Dave
Lowcountrydave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Lowcountrydave For This Useful Post:
machouinard (04-08-2013)
Old 03-17-2014, 03:21 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Craftsman Air Compressor Won't Run


Guess I forgot to get back to this. After many phone calls to many service techs who all assured me there was no fuse, I pulled off the housing and removed the motor. On the bottom of the motor, buried in electrical tape, was a 30A blade fuse, blown.

Perhaps this will help someone in the future.

machouinard is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to machouinard For This Useful Post:
curtd (03-29-2014), PaliBob (03-17-2014), ratherbefishing (03-18-2014)
Reply

Tags
compressor, fuse


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Porter-Cable or Craftsman Drill Dilema cprice12 Tools 19 02-16-2012 07:00 PM
Snowblower: Craftsman vs Poulan wiz561 General DIY Discussions 10 10-29-2011 02:29 PM
Our House: A 1913 Craftsman OurHouse Introductions 9 06-26-2011 09:37 PM
Similar to Craftsman, but built in 1900? TOTALN00B General DIY Discussions 3 02-18-2011 10:23 PM
Craftsman 19.2 problems..please help lairdness Tools 12 08-17-2009 09:14 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.