Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-11-2012, 07:23 AM   #1

Share |

Cordless tool set

Hello
I am looking for a cordless tool set (the usual 4 tool sets - drill, reciprocating saw, circular saw and the flashlight - however not sure I really need that light, but it's always part of those sets)
I am not a professional, but I'm buying a house and will have work to do here and here
I'm not looking for high end brands such as Dewalt, Makita or Milwaukee......I want to keep my budget at ~$250 max
I was thinking about Ryobi, Kobalt, Porter Cable or Crafstman
I'm also hesitating between NiCd vs Lithium Ion....I know the last one is more convenient, charges faster and has no memory effect, but is more expensive.
Does it make sense to go NiCd nowadays? I was thinking that with the price difference, I could buy a couple extra NiCd batteries.......Or should I definitely consider Lithium?

Thanks

french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 09:23 AM   #2

Cordless tool set

http://www.cporyobi.com/factory-reco...obi-combo-kits

One like this will serve you well.
As well as all the top of the line tools I have been using Ryobi tools for many year and have had very good luck with them.
The batterys cost almost 1/2 as much the other brands and mine have lasted about 5 years before needing replacement. The day I buy a battery I put my name on it and the date I bought it.
You will soon find the ciruler saw is about usless for all but the lightest work like for cutting 1/4" plywood.
I'd suggest you buy a corded ciruler saw, and an impact screw gun. I by far use my impact screw gun more then any other tool. It will drive deck screws, remove stuborn nuts, drill holes with the hex shank drill bits.