Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-09-2008, 10:44 PM   #1

Share |

Compressor Trouble

Hello....Newbie here. I recently bought a Kobalt portable air compressor from Lowes. It is a 5.5 gallon 1.0 horse with max working pressure of 135psi. I don't know much about compressors but I bought this thinking it would be handy for airing up things around the garage,swimming pool toys,basketballs, and the occasional car tire. Thats where I run into a problem. This thing doesn't seem to want to air a car tire up. Is there something I am doing wrong or is this thing just junk? Thanks in advance for your help.

garebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 09:30 AM   #2
Electric Radiant Heating

Compressor Trouble

Starting from scratch, what do you have the exhaust pressure set to on the compressor itself and, are you sure you have the correct fill fitting on the hose? You might think these are silly questions but we have to start somewhere..

Old 04-10-2008, 01:07 PM   #3

Compressor Trouble

Ok, If the exhaust pressure is what the regulator knob controls then I have it turned all the way up. In my owners manual it states that the regulator controls the air pressure coming from the tank. Since I am not using any special ait tools I figured it could just be turned all the way up for what I do with it. As far as the fill fitting for the hose, I am using the kit that came with it which was a 25 piece accessory kit which had all the fittings and hose in it. Thanks for replying.
Garry
Old 04-10-2008, 01:21 PM   #4
Electric Radiant Heating

Compressor Trouble