Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-01-2012, 12:52 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Champbel Hausfield compressor


Greetings.
I searched the forums before posting.

I got this compressor free
It runs untill it gets to 45lbs and then starts to cut out.
if i drain some pressure out it will run right.
it cuts out and will stall if i dont cut power.





i thought it might be the pressure switch so i got a new one and it does the same thing.

This is running on 120volt but the motor says 220volt is somthing screewey?

Thanks
Tinner

I got nothing to do so i would like to fix this as a project


Last edited by Tinner105; 02-01-2012 at 12:54 AM. Reason: more onfo
Tinner105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 01:32 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Newnan,GA
Posts: 61
Default

Champbel Hausfield compressor


I would wire it into 220v. I would guess that will solve your problem

__________________
My humble Man Blog
jasonreck71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 03:34 AM   #3
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,488
Default

Champbel Hausfield compressor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinner105 View Post
is somthing screewey?
Thanks
Tinner
The motor is designed to run on 220. It tries to do its job even when you feed it half rations but as you increase its load with increasing pressure it craps out. I'd crap out too,if I was on half rations.
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 06:29 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Champbel Hausfield compressor


Bingo

That was the problem.
When they built our houses here the left a spare box under the main elect panel.
I wired in a plug
wired a new cord from the compressor

Bingo...... filled it to 125psi and then cut off.

Thank you gentlemen

Tinner

Now i can get rid of that noisy vertical Craftsman compressor.
Tinner105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cambell hausfield compressor problem autobody man Appliances 1 06-05-2011 03:05 PM
Help assembling compressor jfhspike Tools 5 03-27-2011 10:07 AM
Air compressor and framing nailer for DIY ADKstorm Tools 20 11-11-2010 07:38 AM
New Compressor - Wrong Charge? shayneb HVAC 4 08-23-2008 08:13 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.