Campbell Hausfeld Compressor "freezing" Up - Tools - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2013, 10:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Near Sacramento, CA
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Campbell Hausfeld Compressor "freezing" up


Hi everyone!

My first post, so please go easy on me!

I have a Campbell Hausfeld Compressor Model # WL506201AJ.

It is several years old, but I have only about 5-10 hours max on it.

I have barely used it over the years. Even when it was only a couple of years old, at times, when I turned it on, it sounded like something froze up inside it, and then it would blow a fuse in the electrical circuit [sign of drawing too many amps].

I would let it set for a while, and it always worked fine again.

Just wondering if anyone here can tell me what is wrong.

It blows a fuse in an electrical circuit even if the circuit is rated far above 20 amps.

What could be the problem?

I have attached a diagram of this specific compressor.

Thanks,

Soar
Attached Thumbnails
Campbell Hausfeld Compressor "freezing" up-chwl506201aj.jpg  

Advertisement


Last edited by soarwitheagles; 03-10-2013 at 10:07 PM.
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 10:28 PM   #2
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,326
Rewards Points: 3,290
Default

Campbell Hausfeld Compressor "freezing" up


I've owned 5 or 6 of those---that happens under two conditions---

Most common---it get shut off or unplugged while running--then when you turn it back on it is air locked and can't start up --solution---lower the tank pressure by pulling on the preasure relief valve--

This is just one of the things this machine does if shut off before it reaches full preasure and shuts it self off----


The other cause is low voltage----this machine does not like to run off of an extention cord or be powered on a light circuit---

What you are describing is common and in my experience is not a sign of a problem--

Advertisement

__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 12:12 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Near Sacramento, CA
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Campbell Hausfeld Compressor "freezing" up


Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post
I've owned 5 or 6 of those---that happens under two conditions---

Most common---it get shut off or unplugged while running--then when you turn it back on it is air locked and can't start up --solution---lower the tank pressure by pulling on the preasure relief valve--

This is just one of the things this machine does if shut off before it reaches full preasure and shuts it self off----


The other cause is low voltage----this machine does not like to run off of an extention cord or be powered on a light circuit---

What you are describing is common and in my experience is not a sign of a problem--
oh'mike,

Thank you so much for your swift and informative reply.

What you say makes total sense because it could not be due to old age or so many miles on it because it happened even when it was brand new.

I think it is low voltage [long extension cord drops the voltage I suppose] and poor shut down practices by me.

I can correct the poor shut down practices I have done, but low voltage issues...

So, one more question...must I always avoid extension cords and plug directly into the wall, or are there other options?

Thanks again!

Soar
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 06:14 AM   #4
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,326
Rewards Points: 3,290
Default

Campbell Hausfeld Compressor "freezing" up


Use 12 gauge cords only--as short as practical---buy more air hose---use that instead of an extension cord----

Those are good compressors but you have discovered the one irritating flaw----
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to oh'mike For This Useful Post:
Baxter01 (03-16-2013), woodworkbykirk (03-11-2013)
Old 03-11-2013, 03:58 PM   #5
journeyman carpenter
 
woodworkbykirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 2,779
Rewards Points: 174
Default

Campbell Hausfeld Compressor "freezing" up


also , never plug a compressor into a outlet with anything else plugged in.
i always keep my compressor on a circuit that has nothing else plugged in this way there is no risk of a drop in amperage which can burn out the motor.
woodworkbykirk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 07:10 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 683
Rewards Points: 512
Default

Campbell Hausfeld Compressor "freezing" up


yup agreed, i have the same one and have the same issues. i rarely use it now having pretty much everything that runs off of a battery now.
princelake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 07:50 PM   #7
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,301
Rewards Points: 1,054
Default

Campbell Hausfeld Compressor "freezing" up


That appears to be an "oilless" compressor and I agree with "Omike" on this one. Try this: IF you can hold the pressure relief valve (#6) open while turning the compressor ON, see if it will start up. This way it will not be "dead-heading", which is basically what "Omike" described.
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 02:44 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Near Sacramento, CA
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Campbell Hausfeld Compressor "freezing" up


Quote:
Originally Posted by woodworkbykirk View Post
also , never plug a compressor into a outlet with anything else plugged in.
i always keep my compressor on a circuit that has nothing else plugged in this way there is no risk of a drop in amperage which can burn out the motor.
woodworkbykirk,

Ok, I will remember from now on to only use a dedicated line/circuit when using this compressor.

Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by princelake View Post
yup agreed, i have the same one and have the same issues. i rarely use it now having pretty much everything that runs off of a battery now.
princelake,

Are you saying you now have a compressor that runs off of a battery?

Soar

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thurman View Post
That appears to be an "oilless" compressor and I agree with "Omike" on this one. Try this: IF you can hold the pressure relief valve (#6) open while turning the compressor ON, see if it will start up. This way it will not be "dead-heading", which is basically what "Omike" described.
Thurman,

Ok, I will try your advice and see if that will help.

I think the biggest mistake I have made is I ran a temporary extension cord to our car port using 14/3 wire. Before I was using 10/3 wire and never had a problem.

Also, I had several other items sucking up wattage when I attempted to use the compressor and it seemed to "seize up" much more than ever before and blew the fuse on the circuit quickly.

I have another 30 amp outlet that has the 8/3 wire, but it is outside the carport and I do not want to leave my compressor outside like that.

For now, I think I will lug the compressor outside to the 30 amp outlet when I need to use it, then run a longer hose to the car port where I do most of the work.

Thanks again everyone for your great help and advice...

I was sincerely thinking about tossing this compressor out and buying a new one, but now I realize that would have been a big mistake! Like I said, there is less than 10 hours on this machine...hopefully I will obtain many more years of service on it.

For those that own this model, may I ask how many running hours have you gotten out of it?

Soar
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 07:14 AM   #9
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,326
Rewards Points: 3,290
Default

Campbell Hausfeld Compressor "freezing" up


I get about 3 years out of one---5000 running hours is what that is rated before you need to replace reed valve/piston and cylinder---Strong machine designed for heavy use---

Oil less units have less usable hours than oil bath units----however---if they are tipped over or frozen in your truck, they will still work----

I've had issues with oil bath units --they can run out of oil and then die----so I only have two of those---on the truck? Oil less---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 05:48 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Near Sacramento, CA
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Campbell Hausfeld Compressor "freezing" up


Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post
I get about 3 years out of one---5000 running hours is what that is rated before you need to replace reed valve/piston and cylinder---Strong machine designed for heavy use---

Oil less units have less usable hours than oil bath units----however---if they are tipped over or frozen in your truck, they will still work----

I've had issues with oil bath units --they can run out of oil and then die----so I only have two of those---on the truck? Oil less---
Thanks Mike!

Wow! So if I have only used mine for 10 hours, I may still have another 4990 hours left on it?

That makes me very happy!

On the other hand, if old age also takes a toll on this unit [this unit is over 10 years old], can anyone here recommend a second unit for me?

Here is what I plan on using it for:
  1. Blowing out dusty computers once per month
  2. Occasional paint jobs when I need a compressor for the paint can sprayer.
  3. Pump up an occasional tire

I think I should stay away from the Oil Bath compressors...I read somewhere the oil units can cause trouble when using them to supply air for spraying oil based paints...
That's about it...

Thank you,

Soar

Last edited by soarwitheagles; 03-12-2013 at 05:52 PM.
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 06:11 PM   #11
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,326
Rewards Points: 3,290
Default

Campbell Hausfeld Compressor "freezing" up


I think yours is an oil less unit----if it is an oil bath one---pick up a bottle of compressor oil and change it---I use synthetic oil in mine---the viscosity is better for cold weather---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 07:06 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Near Sacramento, CA
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Campbell Hausfeld Compressor "freezing" up


Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post
I think yours is an oil less unit----if it is an oil bath one---pick up a bottle of compressor oil and change it---I use synthetic oil in mine---the viscosity is better for cold weather---
How do I know if there is oil in mine or not?

Thank you!

Soar
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 07:17 PM   #13
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,326
Rewards Points: 3,290
Default

Campbell Hausfeld Compressor "freezing" up


There will be a dipstick ---look it over very carefully---the oil fill/dipstick hole is easy to spot if it has one---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 09:40 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 683
Rewards Points: 512
Default

Campbell Hausfeld Compressor "freezing" up


lol no mine isnt a battery. i bought all battery powered tools so i dont have to haul around the heavy compressor
princelake is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to princelake For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (03-12-2013)
Old 03-12-2013, 11:35 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Near Sacramento, CA
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Campbell Hausfeld Compressor "freezing" up


Quote:
Originally Posted by princelake View Post
lol no mine isnt a battery. i bought all battery powered tools so i dont have to haul around the heavy compressor
Princelake,

Oh, ok, I see!

May I ask what was your choice of brand name on the battery operated tools?

I have tried Makita, Milwaukee, Dewalt, and several others...now I have switched exclusively to Rigid. Rigid is the only maker that I know of that offers lifetime warranty! For me, this is really, really good. I do not know if they still offer the lifetime warranty...it was for a limited time only and I had to register every tool. I picked up their combo pack and have been very happy with it.

I went through over $400 worth of Dewalt 18v batteries. Now I never need to worry about replacing batteries ever again!

Soar
Attached Thumbnails
Campbell Hausfeld Compressor "freezing" up-rigid.jpg  

Advertisement

soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
older model campbell hausfeld air compressor value ??? nicholstwo General DIY Discussions 8 01-24-2012 02:44 PM
Campbell hausfeld air compressor wont start Steve12 Tools 25 03-04-2011 09:17 PM
2 gallon air compressor combo - Campbell Hausfeld or Husky? whataboutj Tools 3 11-26-2010 03:31 PM
CampBell Hausfeld Compressor problems Hexar Tools 13 11-23-2010 07:23 PM
Bostitch VS Campbell Hausfeld nailers. Jim F Tools 4 04-25-2010 02:50 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts