Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-05-2011, 11:06 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Air compressor tank drain

Hey there. I work in manufacturing where we have a Dewalt D55168 air compressor. It will run all day on and off. During that time, it accumulates a lot of water in the tank. We have to drag it outside to drain it which is a huge pain in the butt. I'm wondering if anyone knows of a product that will automatically drain the tank without having to drag it outside.

I know about the Habor Freight automatic drain which won't work. I know there are expensive models on the market for $100+ but that's more than budget allows.

I wonder if there's a way to dry out the air before it gets compressed into the tank? Something that attaches between the actual compressor and the air filter. Or a cheaper auto tank drain I don't know about.

Thanks.

chechnya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 11:17 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?

Rewards Points: 2,000

Quote:
I wonder if there's a way to dry out the air before it gets compressed into the tank?
sure but it will cost a lot more than that $100 powered drain you said was too expensive.

If you want cheap, why not just remove the petcock that is there now, build a pipe system with a manual valve in it and a hose nipple so you can run a little hose outside so you can at least manually drain the tank without having to drag the compressor outside each time. You could use 1/4 or 3/8 inch hose probably.

why won't the Harbor Freight gizmo work?

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 11:29 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 252

We remove the existing pet cock, install a 1/4 x 90, add a 1/4 pipe nipple, add another 1/4 x 90, put the pet cock on and drain teh compressor manually into a small container. At least that is what we do to the compressors we install for fire sprinkler systems.
fireguy is offline   Reply With Quote