Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-27-2008, 02:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cantrall, IL
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

Air compressor with no power line or info on how to install it!!!


I'm a newbie to say the least...BUT, I have bought an air compressor from Menards. It is a Coleman powermate. Model #SLA7006056. The Co. had a wire in the store with the 240 V plug. However, the owners manual doesn't say anything on how to connect the wire to the compressor. Further more...THERE'S NO WAY TO CONNECT THE COMPRESSOR TO ANY POWER WITHOUT HAVING THE CORD IN USE. I think I just bought a decoration type air compressor. Can anyone please give me some info on how to connect the power wire. By the way...HI to EVERYONE.

Last edited by ffdanf; 04-27-2008 at 02:08 PM.
ffdanf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008, 06:26 PM   #2
Custom Cabinet Maker
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Netcong NJ
Posts: 1,097
Default

Air compressor with no power line or info on how to install it!!!


Have you called Coleman yet? There has to be customer service there, get the manual and all you need to know should be contained therein
skymaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008, 08:02 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cantrall, IL
Posts: 10
Default

Air compressor with no power line or info on how to install it!!!


I tried to call them but no one was home. I may have to try to call again or drive to their Co.
ffdanf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008, 08:34 PM   #4
Custom Cabinet Maker
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Netcong NJ
Posts: 1,097
Default

Air compressor with no power line or info on how to install it!!!


FF; It is a dedicated 240 compressor. There has to be a control box on the unit, where the on/off switch is located; inside there will be screws to hook the wires onto. If there are 3 screws and a green/ground screw than you need 12/3 to connect. unit is 220v; 15 amp. IF there are only 2 screws and the ground than 12/2 will work. NOTE:!!!!!!!!!! You will need MATCHING MALE PLUG AND RECPTACLES. You also need a dedicated 220v 20 amp circuit which means 12 gauge wire.
http://www.aaaa-generator.com/CP-SLA7006056.pdf

Last edited by skymaster; 04-27-2008 at 08:36 PM.
skymaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008, 08:46 PM   #5
Custom Cabinet Maker
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Netcong NJ
Posts: 1,097
Default

Air compressor with no power line or info on how to install it!!!


FF: OK the manual i sent ya; on page 2, the second picture you see with the whole unit in exploded view. PART NUMBER 9. Lists it as CORD INTERCONNECT, there is your connection point right on lower right corner of the motor, open cover and hook er up!!!!!!!!!!! good luck
Jack
skymaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008, 10:00 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cantrall, IL
Posts: 10
Default

Air compressor with no power line or info on how to install it!!!


Skymaster, I'm glad you saw it the same way I did. That connection didn't work quite right. Someone else had said something about connections in the manifold assembly(Part 22). On page six it's inside part 2 there is the overly obvious connection site. As soon as I opened it I knew that was the site. I have know idea how in the world they knew that but now the air compressor works perfectly. Thanks for helping me.
ffdanf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 04:15 PM   #7
Custom Cabinet Maker
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Netcong NJ
Posts: 1,097
Default

Air compressor with no power line or info on how to install it!!!


You are welcome, sorry I didnt fully solve it but Hey ITS WORKING
skymaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Save Device capt2 Electrical 52 02-24-2010 06:42 PM
Hot Water Recirculating Line jdupre Plumbing 9 01-06-2008 07:49 AM
power line noise sciguy125 Electrical 5 12-02-2007 01:39 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.