Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Tools

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-16-2012, 11:51 AM   #1

Share |

12pt or 6pt Sockets?

Hello Everyone, so after breaking 2 Stanley (Taiwan Made) sockets this weekend working on my van, I decided to buy something a bit better that will last longer. I am only 38 so I plan to be working on things for a while. So I want something that will last. The tools I have now are all Home Depot, Stanley or just plain no name brands. I am not a pro mechanic and my job doesn't involve the use of any tools at the moment. These will be used mainly for small repairs on our imported mini-van and my Ford F-250. Also for home repairs and DIY projects around the house.

Here is my dilemma, I already have a Craftsman 12pt Wrench set, both MM and SAE. I need a new socket set but don't know what my money would be best spent on, 12pt or 6pt. There is a set at Sears for $400 that has 1/4", 3/8", 1/2" drive sockets in both 12pt and 6pt. But the problem is that a lot of the sizes are doubles, both in 12pt and then again in 6pt. I checked and if I stick to say 12pt only I can get all the sizes in this ultimate set for about 1/2 the price, the same with 6pt.

So what do you guys think? Is there ever a time were one type worked better than the other? Is it necessary to have both types? (12pt & 6pt)

Any thoughts would be awesome!

Last edited by cessna1466u; 01-16-2012 at 11:54 AM.
cessna1466u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 11:57 AM   #2

12pt or 6pt Sockets?

A 6 pt. will work fine. A 12 pt will have thiner walls the advantage is it's faster to get the socket on the nuts without having to turn it as far to get it to lock in. A 12 is also more likly to slip on a rusted or messed up nut.

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 12:01 PM   #3

12pt or 6pt Sockets?