Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-28-2013, 03:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 29
Share |
Default

wood stove install?


I have and old vented propane heater in my gargage Its way to expensive to run so i bought a woodstove. The stove has an 8 inch pipe. the garage is block with siding on the outside. what do i need to do to get that pipe threw the wall without melting my siding or catching the garage on fire. Ive been looking online for information it im not having any luck. Also the cheaper the better.

kevin07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 03:17 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,657
Default

wood stove install?


You could vent it through the roof -
Double-wall, stainless-steel -
keep it away from flameables (wood).

rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 03:27 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,248
Default

wood stove install?


Can you go through the roof instead?
It's not going to be cheap by any means to run it right.
If you go out the wall your going to need a wall stand to suppport the vertical piping, lined pipe so it's cool enough to not melt the siding, standoffs to support the pipe, it has to be run above the roof line and also need a cap.
http://www.selkirkcorp.com/installat...lt.aspx?id=292
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
kevin07 (01-28-2013)
Old 01-28-2013, 03:37 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 29
Default

wood stove install?


i could go through the roof would that be cheaper? My roof is about 14 ft off the ground where i want to put the stove any wild guesses on how much it would cost to go through the roof?
kevin07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 03:47 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,248
Default

wood stove install?


No idea on exact cost. Look though the site I posted to get an idea on what needs to be done to keep it safe. No need to buy that exact brand, just wanted you to know that parts are needed
Still would need a thimple where it goes through the ceiling that holds the pipe and keeps it from moving and a roof jack rain shield and cap.

Last edited by joecaption; 01-28-2013 at 03:50 PM.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:27 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 29
Default

wood stove install?


ok i was thinking of using single wall pipe because its cheaper i have a drywall celing what would i need to do around this to stay safe but not have a big hole arond the stove pipe for clearance. Sorry for the dumb questions i have no experience with wood stoves.
kevin07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:38 PM   #7
Concrete & Masonry
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,710
Default

wood stove install?


What kind of siding? Common sense says that the block wall is the safest approach. I'd likely go to double wall to keep the portion of pipe inside safe to those around it though.......
jomama45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:52 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 29
Default

wood stove install?


vynl siding. Would double wall be cool enough to have the siding tuching it? or would i need a thimble? Also would 2 90s and all single wall cause a draft issue?
kevin07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 10:26 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,248
Default

wood stove install?


Single wall would burn out within a year or so.
No double wall can not come in contact with the siding.
No it can not even come in contact with the drywall. It was to be at least 2" form any combustable material.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (01-29-2013)
Old 01-29-2013, 05:15 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,243
Default

wood stove install?


I am usually an advocate of doing things yourself but, in some instances it is time to call in someone who knows what they are doing. You (the OP) indicated that you have no experience with wood stoves. My brother recently had one installed in his home. Single story thru the roof. I was impressed with the care and knowledge that the installer had when opening up the roof and installing the proper roof safe and piping. Properly sized pipe is important based on the stove to ensure proper heat retention in the pipe so it does not get too cool or too hot. Both of these situations can cause problems for the stove, chimney, structure. I would advise to at least seek out some expert opinions on a proper instalation.
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to danpik For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (01-29-2013)
Old 01-29-2013, 05:17 AM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,814
Default

wood stove install?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin07 View Post
vynl siding. Would double wall be cool enough to have the siding tuching it? or would i need a thimble? Also would 2 90s and all single wall cause a draft issue?
Would still need a thimble. The pipe would need to be a flue pipe rated for solid fuel. And it would still have a min clearance needed from the siding. Single wall clearances are much greater then All fuel requirements.

EG: On gas, B vent requires 1" all the way around it, single wall pipe requires 6" all the way around it.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 05:27 AM   #12
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,477
Default

wood stove install?


Going out the wall will cost more than roof----

Danpik made a good point---flue sizing is key to proper drafting of the smoke----

Most stoves use 6" --so do find out what is the correct pipe size for your project---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 06:25 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sk. Canada
Posts: 418
Default

wood stove install?


I would also check with your home insurance carrier. Wood stoves often cause an increase in premium costs. Also check with your local fire inspector for any special requirements for a stove in a garage.
daveb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to daveb1 For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (01-29-2013)
Old 01-29-2013, 06:59 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,886
Default

wood stove install?


You might be better off building a simple cinderblock chimney. Might be cheaper too.

Is the stove you bought new, or used? I don't remember the last time I saw a new stove with an 8-inch flue.
md2lgyk is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to md2lgyk For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (01-29-2013)
Old 01-29-2013, 02:30 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 29
Default

wood stove install?


It is a used stove its a Schrader it has an 8" single wall pipe attached to it. I will be doing the install not paying anyone to do it. I just need to do my research and find the proper way to install it and i will follow the all the requirement to make it safe. I think im just going to find a local store that sells woodstoves and pipe and talk to them to see what my options are.

kevin07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aurora wood stove info needed. jehiatt General DIY Discussions 11 01-18-2012 08:35 AM
Moving heat from wood stove in basement Mike in MN HVAC 0 11-23-2010 11:04 AM
HVC on with Wood Stove? fpianka HVAC 5 11-14-2010 04:22 PM
Wood burning stove trim not flush against chimney Fortitude Appliances 1 11-11-2010 09:28 PM
Painting behind wood stove donnieh1 Painting 4 11-08-2008 08:42 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.