Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-03-2007, 01:57 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Wood stove ?

I bought a fireplace insert off a guy, brand new. The question I have is where the flue pipe attaches "stainless steel liner" to the stove, this piece is not attached to the stove. He said to drill and tap it to bolt it to the stove. My question is do I have to use special heat temper bolts? I dont understand why this is not attached to the stove. thanks in advance.

econdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 10:25 PM   #2

Wood stove ?

Contct the manufacturer for instructions and any parts needed to complete the installation. Follow those instructions to the letter. When I was a full-time firefighter, we called those contraptions a " furnace". We actually called them many other names, non of which are fit to be used here. We saw too many of those furnaces burn the home. Usually from inadequate clearances to combustables. Personally, I would never have one of those in my home.

fireguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 02:24 PM   #3

Wood stove ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fireguy View Post
Contct the manufacturer for instructions and any parts needed to complete the installation. Follow those instructions to the letter. When I was a full-time firefighter, we called those contraptions a " furnace". We actually called them many other names, non of which are fit to be used here. We saw too many of those furnaces burn the home. Usually from inadequate clearances to combustables. Personally, I would never have one of those in my home.
Could you somehow post a picure of these "Furnaces that burn homes" setup,fireguy?..it almost sounds as this very thing may be living in my living room ..at present!yikesrz!
Dyn'R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 09:06 PM   #4

Wood stove ?