Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2007, 11:25 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wood burning fire


hello can anyone tell me if i can replace my gas fire with a wood buring fire , my chimlely is timber framed

rumps321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 11:39 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wood burning fire


The gas fireplace will be vented probably with a flexible double pipe aluminum pipe, this is not suitable for a wood burning appliance, you probably will need to put an exterior chimney "A-vent" or Superpro chimney on the outside.

Niagarafalls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 11:49 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wood burning fire


sound like a big job? is there a way of it just going out via the back some way as its backs onto an outside wall?
rumps321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 11:54 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wood burning fire


Is this an insert Gas Fireplace? does it vent up the Chimney? Was this always there or was the chimney used prior as a wood fireplace?
Niagarafalls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 11:59 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wood burning fire


its always been in since the house was built in 2000, its just a standard living flame gas fire, built in to the fire place
yes it vent up the chimely
rumps321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 12:07 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wood burning fire


Sounds like you should have someone take a look at the chimney to get a professional opinion. Sorry
Niagarafalls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 12:14 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wood burning fire


okay thanks for your help anyway it give me abit more of an idea
rumps321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 03:20 PM   #8
Woodworker and Contractor
 
Kingfisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 224
Rewards Points: 150
Default

wood burning fire


Wood burners can't vent out the back they have to end above the roof. If you have a chase already formed they could run the new duct in the same chase but it will take new ducting. Wood burns at a higher temp. then the gas.
Kingfisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 10:07 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wood burning fire


thanks for that, would just stadard steel ducting do it or does it have to be some special kind? also does it have to be a certin width?
rumps321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 10:20 AM   #10
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,282
Rewards Points: 2,226
Default

wood burning fire


It is a Double Walled Flue that is used. You are better off having a company install the new unit, and duct, then take it on yourself, due to would be cheaper for the whole package.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 10:27 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Downeast Maine
Posts: 999
Rewards Points: 500
Default

wood burning fire


You'll need a prefab chimney pipe like "Metalbestos" or equivalent. It can either go up the existing wood-framed chimney chase, or it can go out the exterior wall, and extend to the proper height above the roofline outside the building.

You could also consider a pellet-burning stove, depending on what you're needs are. Some of those have more flexible venting options, and can even be direct-vented to an outside wall with 3" pipe.

Either way, I agree with the above that you should go to a stove shop and talk to them/have them come look at your installation and either do the work for you, or give you detailed specifications of what you need for doing it yourself. It's very important to get a new wood stove installed correctly, and that can be hard if you have no familiarity with wood-burning systems. The temperatures are much higher than any other application (except coal, I guess), and the consequences of screwing it up are pretty major.

Nate
NateHanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 10:55 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wood burning fire


thanks for your help guys, i guess its all kinda point towards getting someone in to do it, but i guess its better to be safe than sorry.

rumps321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hard wood fire door crecore Building & Construction 3 11-09-2007 06:35 PM
Can a compact fluorescent lamp get wood on fire? AlphaHydrox Electrical 3 08-31-2007 10:22 AM
Brick and wood flooring jhughesfam Flooring 1 08-18-2007 03:29 PM
Wood close to Non-IC recessed lighting-solution? sjmonty Electrical 4 12-01-2006 09:14 AM
Wood Burning FP needs flue extension Renee Building & Construction 1 08-29-2005 05:26 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.