Wiring Question - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2008, 11:38 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring Question


i want to add a new switch to existing switch for a outside light above
my door. the way its wired is it shows two wires to the existing switch for the light in the hall, how can i tap into this using a switch for the
light outside. the wires used are a nobe and tube system.

Advertisement


Last edited by VGI0696; 02-04-2008 at 01:43 PM. Reason: added additional wording
VGI0696 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 11:49 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring Question


i want to add a new switch to existing switch for a outside light above
my door. the way its wired is two wires (nobe and tube) to the existing switch for the light in the hall how can i tap into this using a switch for the
light outside.

Advertisement

VGI0696 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 01:44 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring Question


i want to add a new switch to existing switch for a outside light above
my door. the way its wired is it shows two wires to the existing switch for the light in the hall, how can i tap into this using a switch for the
light outside. the wires used are a nobe and tube system.
VGI0696 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 02:28 PM   #4
I blame ProWallGuy
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 244
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Wiring Question


ECHO ECHo ECho Echo echo.
Double A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 03:15 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 561
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wiring Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by VGI0696 View Post
i want to add a new switch to existing switch for a outside light above
my door. the way its wired is it shows two wires to the existing switch for the light in the hall, how can i tap into this using a switch for the
light outside. the wires used are a nobe and tube system.
You can't. With 2 wires at the switch, you have a hot and a switchleg.
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on generator wiring mdalli Electrical 35 10-05-2011 08:45 PM
Question about wiring outlets together firemanpato Electrical 5 01-05-2008 04:52 PM
3-Way Switch Wiring Question bhpizza Electrical 4 08-07-2007 06:51 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 02:19 AM
Trane Heat Pump tstat replacement with Honeywell prog - wiring question sep23 HVAC 2 10-20-2006 10:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts