Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-24-2013, 06:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Wire Shelf


I've got a white wire shelf in my laundry room and need something like this to join two upright poles together. The one in the picture no longer works as the poles themselves have grooves and the clamp cannot keep them up.
Attached Thumbnails
Wire Shelf-image-2253441887.jpg  

JKS34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 07:08 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,387
Default

Wire Shelf


Change the poles instead of the clamp. That looks like a conduit coupler. Perhaps a piece of conduit can be used as the pole.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 07:16 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Wire Shelf


I live in an apartment so I can't really replace anything. Just need something to work.
JKS34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 09:21 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,387
Default

Wire Shelf


Post a picture of the pole setup.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 09:30 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,842
Default

Wire Shelf


Sure does look like an EMT coupling with some paint on it.
http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=...lectedIndex=24
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 01:12 PM   #6
Member
 
Dave Sal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 265
Default

Wire Shelf


Not sure if I understand the problem, but are you saying that the poles have a groove and the connector no longer holds it tight? If so, have you considered changing the screws to ones that are a bit longer so you can tighten them a bit more?

Dave Sal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Use red and black wire as 110 in Canada mattm Electrical 10 11-26-2012 07:40 PM
THWN wire; Gray pvc Conduit; and GFCI receptacles Buzzy Electrical 29 09-26-2012 02:41 AM
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 01:33 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.