DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

What's your drywall anchor of choice?

5K views 24 replies 20 participants last post by  portbarton 
#1 ·
I imagine that certain situations may call for certain types, like toggles, but from a general anchor standpoint?

I have been using the "EZ-Ancor" for a while now and have been happy with them. Was at the store today and saw the Cobra Triple Grip and figured I would give those a try too. Haven't used them yet though. Other?

EZ-Ancor

Cobra Triple Grip

See less See more
#10 ·
Ron -- I'm far from a pro so I haven't used nearly the amount of anchors they have, but I haven't had any issues stripping out in drywall. Are you saying they pull through the drywall during the installation? Or when you're screwing the metal screw into them?

#22 ·
I don't like the screw-in anchors (EZ). I figure it breaks up the gypsum, and the screw is not sharp enough to cut the back paper properly, and tears it. The combination can seriously weaken the drywall.

I don't like drive in anchors because of the number of failures I have seen because the back of the dry wall has been blown out.

For shear loads, and light tension loads, I prefer a plastic plug with lots of ridges (not the smooth tapered ones included in so many items).