Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-13-2008, 10:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

what would you do??


Hi everyone,
Can you guys help me? A section of my bathroom wall is uneven.
Is there anything I can do to make my outlet cover flush with the wall?
THANKS!
Attached Thumbnails
what would you do??-outlet.jpg  

gobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 09:18 AM   #2
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Default

what would you do??


Remove the electrical cover.

Sand the area around the cover down.

Re-coat around the cover to get it smooth.

Like this:

AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 09:26 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Default

what would you do??


Can you post of photo with the cover off?

Do not get shocked.
redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 11:02 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Default

what would you do??


sure...


thank you!
Attached Thumbnails
what would you do??-outlet.jpg  
gobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 11:30 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,508
Default

what would you do??


Someone tried to smooth that wall with drywall compound while the receptical was still installed. It's possible to do that but it's easier if you remove the receptical. And then clean out the excess drywall compound from the box. Shut off the breaker first before removing the receptical!

BTW, you don't need to use mesh tape to repair those small holes to the left of the receptical. Drywall compound should work fine.

Is this is your first go at drywall work? Use sandpaper on a flat sanding block or get a drywall screen. You should be able to smooth it out. Just keep at it - you'll get there.

It looks like the reset switch on the GFCI receptical might be sealed with paint or drywall compound. If so it should be replaced.

Last edited by jogr; 01-14-2008 at 11:40 AM.
jogr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 01:27 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Default

what would you do??


Do I sand through the paper into the drywall material?
Thank you
gobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 02:16 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,508
Default

what would you do??


No don't sand through the paper. If you get to the paper before it's smooth then stop. You need to skim enough compound over the area so that you have filled all depressions and can sand to a nice smooth finish without getting to the paper except around the edges where the thickness of the compound feathers down to the drwall paper.

Apply the compound in several thin layers. As a beginner I would recomend that you let each layer dry and then sand and wipe off the dust before applying another layer. This way you can take care of stray ridges and voids as you go and it will be obvious by eyeballing it when you have got the nice smooth finish you want.

If you want to speed up the drying of each layer for a small area you can shine a halogen work light onto it from a foot away or so.
jogr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 02:26 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 264
Default

what would you do??


Just caulk the gap.

Ok, I kid. Looks like you'll need to pull that GFCI out and replace it as suggested above. At least that's what I'd do. Although I'm weird and paint and stuff on my outlets really irritates me for some reason.
perpetual98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 03:46 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Default

what would you do??


The box is flush with the wall so it seems that it maybe the gfci that is not sitting deep enough into the box.

Turn off the breaker to this outlet.
Clean off the compound between the gfci and the outlet box.
You may be able to get the gfci to sit deeper into the box and then the outlet cover will sit closer to the wall.
redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 04:15 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Default

what would you do??


Hey Redline,
The left side of my outlet cover is flush but not the right side as shown in the first picture
gobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 04:26 PM   #11
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,365
Default

what would you do??


As already stated, You need to turn the power off. Pull the receptacle from the box and mark the wires carefully. Maybe take a picture. Then remove the receptacle and push the wires back into the box. Then you can sand the area flat going right over top of the box.
It almost looks like there is enough compound that may not need to add any more. Do not sand through the paper. If you start hitting paper stop sanding add ore compound to the low spots.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 02:53 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Default

what would you do??


Quote:
Originally Posted by gobo View Post
Hey Redline,
The left side of my outlet cover is flush but not the right side as shown in the first picture
Unable able to see the left side of the cover from the photo.

Put some thin coats of compound on the low area to bring it up to the cover.
redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 02:33 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Default

what would you do??


Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlanticWBConst. View Post
Remove the electrical cover.

Sand the area around the cover down.

Re-coat around the cover to get it smooth.

Like this:

It needs compound all the way around to make that look right.
boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 01:10 AM   #14
Pro Painter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: northwest suburbs chicago
Posts: 448
Default

what would you do??


heh, did you try to tighten the screws on the outlet? Not the cover, but move the top screw on the outlet itself?

Last edited by joewho; 01-19-2008 at 01:14 AM.
joewho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 11:53 AM   #15
Builder/Remodeler
 
ChrWright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 60
Default

what would you do??


The wall looks rough and needs work, true.

But there's an easier way to get the GFCI, or any switch/receptacle, to recess further into the box.

When installing a switch/receptacle in a metal box that's already flush to the wall--break the tabs off of the top & bottom and it will usually go a little deeper into the box:




You'll see the two tabs top & bottom have creases to make it easier to snap them off. When your box already has flanges that rim top & bottom to the plaster/drywall, this is the only way to get the cover to install right. Ditto for plastic cut-in boxes.


Last edited by ChrWright; 01-19-2008 at 02:50 PM.
ChrWright is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.