Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-18-2009, 07:56 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

What Tool should I use for this?

I am resurfacing my fireplace with Tile and will be building the wood surround/mantle. See photo of design.

The apron (is that the right term for the wood centered above the firebox/below the mantle?) will have an arch and the arch will have trim on it. I've never done this before. This is my thinking -- please correct me if I'm crazy...

I'll cut a rectangular piece of oak plywood for the apron then screw a 1x6 oak board to it, draw on my arch and then cut both the apron and the trim piece. I'm wondering what will be the best tool to do this cut. I'm a gal and don't have the upper body strength you guys do so I really need to depend on a good power tool and not my brute strength .

I really have no one I can ask this question of so I asked someone at Lowe's. I'm not certain it is a good answer though. He said to use a jigsaw. What do you recommend? Suggestions? Thoughts? All is greatly appreciated! TIA Roxanne
Attached Thumbnails
What Tool should I use for this?-img_5991.jpg  

roxksears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 08:24 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 250

A router and a mdf template would be the best with a topmounted bearing flush cut bit. Maybe a jigsaw to roughcut.

Old 11-18-2009, 09:22 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 1,000

Quote:
A router and a mdf template would be the best with a topmounted bearing flush cut bit. Maybe a jigsaw to roughcut
How would you cut the template??

Freehand jigsaw is pretty rough. If you have some kind of flexible trim I suppose it would work. Hehe heh....he said wood work.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 10:22 PM   #4
Civil Engineer

Rewards Points: 2,136