Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-15-2010, 11:16 PM   #1

Share |

What size pilot hole for 3" deck screw?

Please help out a beginner here. What size pilot hole would you use to drill a 3" deck screw through one 2x4 into another 2x4?

I have seen a miliion charts, all saying different things. I'm assuming 3" deck screws are #8 screws? Is this correct?

Going by that, most charts say to use a 3/32 or 7/64 drill bit. For me this is close to impossible, the screw will barely go in, sqeaking like crazy and constantly slipping.

I've used a 1/8 but that stills seems extremely difficult. A 5/32 worked much better but I'm worried that pilot hole is TOO big and it won't hold well.

I'm building a workbench, I bought these phillips II plus premium exterior 3" deck screws from Lowe's I'm trying to use. They have some type of "evercote" coating on the screws.

Thanks....

Goldglv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 11:31 PM   #2

None. Just drive it through.

Old 01-16-2010, 02:05 AM   #3
Too Short? Cut it Again!

Yup. They should pull themselves in. A SMALL pilot hole will certainly not hurt though. A large one will defeat the purpose.

Try rolling or drilling the screws into a little candle wax or parafin canning type wax first if they really scream. I usually keep an old candle from the table in my box. Do you have a screwdriver with enough torque? That lumber sounds less than kiln dried? Too cheap box store screws?

Last edited by user1007; 01-16-2010 at 02:43 AM.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 02:28 AM   #4

I've seen them as #8's and #10's as well.
jlhaslip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 07:10 AM   #5

It sounds like you're driving them by hand -- is that the case? 3" deck screws can be driven with a screwdriver, but it's a workout.