Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-13-2011, 03:32 AM   #1

Share |

What did I do wrong? Behr paint horrible covering

I have been painting on and off for 20 years and I have never had a paint look like this. either I messed up big time or somethings wrong with this paint mixture - ot it will correct itself with a second coat?

This is the first coat of Behr Premium Plus Disney Collection Color Gamma sector Green.

I rolled it after sanding a textured wall smooth, applying a coat of joint compound to the entire wall, sanded that ( had to be sure the texture was smooth and all texture removed), then applying a coat of Kilz 2 primer.

See the light and dark areas? I know paint will have some areas that doesn't cover well on the first coat but I have never seen anything like this.

It is critical this color winds up an even shade because this color is to be used as a green screen for video production effects.

this is the color the paint is supposed to be: http://www.homedepot.com/buy/paint/p...505-59326.html

Will this fix itself with a second coat or did I really screw up somehow?

Edit to add: The color is off in my picture, it really does look greener than the grayness my photo shows.. i don't know why the color is so bad in the photo. Taken with a Logictech 510 webcam.

Last edited by John Phoenix; 11-13-2011 at 03:36 AM.
John Phoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 03:37 AM   #2
paper hanger and painter

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Phoenix View Post
I have been painting on and off for 20 years and I have never had a paint look like this. either I messed up big time or somethings wrong with this paint mixture - ot it will correct itself with a second coat?

This is the first coat of Behr Premium Plus Disney Collection Color Gamma sector Green.