What Is Around My Lower Basement Walls - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-29-2011, 10:28 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

What is around my lower basement walls

I'm in the thinking stages of finishing my basement and I haven't been able to get a straight answer about why I have this big padded bulge around my basement foundation. Any help would be appreciated. What do I need to do when it comes to framing? I'm new to DIY if that wasn't painfully obvious.

Eric
Attached Thumbnails
What is around my lower basement walls-unfinished-basement.jpg   What is around my lower basement walls-basement-laundry.jpg  

Advertisement

Morty81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 10:59 AM   #2
the Musigician

Rewards Points: 2,000

Hello and welcome to the forum.

It would seem to me to be insulation, although I have to admit, I've never seen it applied quite this way before...

DM

Advertisement

Old 03-29-2011, 11:38 AM   #3

Do you know who the builder was? If so, could always call them to confrim, be interesting to know why they used different material at the bottom.
T-Bar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 11:42 AM   #4
A Little Of Everything

Rewards Points: 1,086

Quote:
Originally Posted by Morty81 View Post
I'm in the thinking stages of finishing my basement and I haven't been able to get a straight answer about why I have this big padded bulge around my basement foundation. Any help would be appreciated. What do I need to do when it comes to framing? I'm new to DIY if that wasn't painfully obvious.

Eric
By the looks of it, that's a specific "below grade" insulation. But beyond that, I have no idea why they would have used it - or exactly what it is.
DrHicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 12:05 PM   #5
I can tie my own shoes

Rewards Points: 75