Welding Help - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Forum > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree11Likes

Old 12-09-2016, 06:23 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 234

Welding Help

I am hoping someone can help me out with choosing some equipment to get started welding. Before I go any further, a few things: 1) I must admit that I have no experience welding whatsoever. 2) I do not like to upgrade equipment--I want to buy the best from the start so I don't "outgrow" anything 3) This will never be a source of income for me 4) I am blessed to have the means to buy top of the line.

Based upon my amateur research, I was thinking I would likely be best suited for a MIG welder. What I want to do it very basic welding. I want to weld a piece on my trailers, join two pieces of stock together, etc. Eventually I may do more but I will be learning on basic things.

So, if you wanted to buy a welder and money was of no issue whatsoever, what would you buy? Any opinions on brands, size, type, etc. are greatly appreciated. I know they may only be an opinion, but they will point me in the right direction to research things further.

Thanks!

Advertisement

SMLWinds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2016, 06:34 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 254

Re: Welding Help

Brands? You won't go wrong with either Lincoln or Miller. Stay clear of Hobart.

RR
Bondo, Msradell, r0ckstarr and 1 others like this.

Advertisement

Rough Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2016, 06:45 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 52