Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2011, 10:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Vapor Barrier retrofit question


I am currently starting into renovating our first home. One issue we quickly found was the 2nd floor master bedroom was freezing!, one issue is poorly run HVAC (for another posting) and the other is the exterior walls were very cold. For the first porject, i decided to strip two of the exterior walls and found ZERO insulation! the previous owners had drywalled over plaster lathe after upgrading the electrical and did not insulate.

Anyway, I have stripped the walls, levelled out the existing studs with 2x2 and re-framed the main window. I installed R-22 Roxul and am going to vapor barrier then drywall.

My question is: since I have only stripped 2 of the 3 exterior walls (the third is finished with two closets so i did nto want to tear them apart), and there is no vapor barrier between the ceiling and attic, How do i properly seal the edges of the vapor barrier to the ceiling and existing walls?

If i use acoustic sealant around the perimiter, there is still a .5 to 2" gap between that and the existing structure, will this be a problem for moisture? is there a way to properly seal the edges before drywall?

Thanks for anay help you can provide!

bicycle-rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 06:05 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,116
Default

Vapor Barrier retrofit question


Paint has often been called an adequate vapor barrier. I would not worry too much about the attic. But is the insulation there OK??? At least 12"?? If you reinsulate that part of the attic, the fisrt layer could be faced.

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 06:39 AM   #3
Mold!! Let's kill it!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,830
Default

Vapor Barrier retrofit question


As long as your vapor barrier is always to the inside, you won't have a moisture issue. The heat from the inside of your home will keep the vapor barrier above dew point so moisture cannot condense.
Maintenance 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 12:29 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Default

Vapor Barrier retrofit question


Welcome to the forum!

Where are you located?

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DRIcore question trailblazer1229 Flooring 0 02-24-2010 09:25 AM
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 12:45 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 08:24 PM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 04:36 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.