Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2009, 12:38 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 154
Share |
Default

Using gas stove for heat during remodel


I've replaced all the hot, cold, gas, sewer, in my house. I haven't setup the heat yet and I've been using a gas stove for heat. Because of the weather, it might be a while before I hook up a furnace.
Is there a health hazard doing this? I usually use a gas wall furnace, but it's not hooked up and I'm trying to get a new attic based furnace.

The gas stove is unvented (free standing unit) and runs all day/nite because the house is block and won't warm up otherwise. The house is far from air tight, as I've tore off some of the roof and still have openings where the sewer lines run to the outside.
Is there a detector of some type that might tell me if the air is not good?

Thanks, KarlJay

KarlJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 12:52 AM   #2
Wood Butcher
 
robin303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Austin Tx
Posts: 62
Default

Using gas stove for heat during remodel


Heck I do. I also get a large stock pot and put it on the stove full of water that generates heat plus puts moisture in the air. I also use those cheap $20 space heaters you can get at Homer.

robin303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 05:02 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,730
Default

Using gas stove for heat during remodel


Get CO2 detectors. But they aren't reliable. It is a dangerous way to heat your house. Gas ranges can put out large amounts of CO.
Enough to make you sick, or kill you.

Low level CO poisoning is often not recognized by people for what it is.
Slightly scratchy throat, mild headaches, running nose, sinus problems.
Are all symptoms of low level CO poisoning.

Often people just think they are catching a cold.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 05:57 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Default

Using gas stove for heat during remodel


Besides the possibility of CO, it burns oxygen form the air. Even if the house is tight, you could have high levels of CO2, not good.
Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 06:29 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Using gas stove for heat during remodel


Not a good idea, get a CO detector as stated
Where are you located - how cold is it where you are ?
Big difference trying to warm a house up in Tx VS Maine
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 08:33 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 154
Default

Using gas stove for heat during remodel


I'm in Sacramento, CA. We've had mid 20's the last 2 nights. I run the oven and 2 burners non stop and leave the door open for about 1 hour / day to air things out. I think I get the pipes in to re-hook up the old wall furnace.
KarlJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 05:41 AM   #7
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,635
Default

Using gas stove for heat during remodel


Carbon monoxcide, not carbon dixocide detector or two for sure and do learn the symptoms of carbon monoxide poisioning! Get out of the house at the first signs. You will get few warnings and it is odorless.

A freestanding, unvented, gas stove, used as the sole heating source for house 24/7 sounds pyschotic or suicidal and even a tad scary to me.

If you don't have electricity, why not get just one or two temporary circuits to the electrical to the box? How are you powering tools that are not cordless and lights and things? Have the inspector approve the temporary service to the the outlets you snake to the house somewhere.

Lived in Northern California for decades. I know it gets cold at night but in Sacramento seldom ever below 45 days at any time? Ground never freezes. Windchills here sunk to -12 this morning. We wear long johns and extra sweatshirts when we work over the winter on homes and building with limited heat. Just a subtle hint.

Last edited by user1007; 12-10-2009 at 06:00 AM.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 03:18 PM   #8
Phil
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 57
Default

Using gas stove for heat during remodel


Code does not require a vent for a residential gas stove in California. The hood is designed to contain a stove top fire when the cook top is near cabinets. All the over the cooktop microwave units are designed so that the exhaust can be feed through a filter and directly back into the kitchen and there is no code violation in doing so and no manufacturer would enable this is it was likely to result in deaths and costly lawsuits.

CO is a problem from furnaces that are not operating properly or people using charcoal to heat their homes (not uncommon with the utilities having shut off power to more than a quarter of a million homes so far this year in California alone).

Phillysun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intallation of wood stove in Garage radl2 HVAC 3 10-12-2009 08:21 PM
Gas Stove Outlet and Over the Range Microwave theatretch85 Electrical 6 04-24-2009 08:25 AM
Coal Stove Hood Devil505 HVAC 1 12-06-2006 05:32 PM
Three electricans said it was impossible! Tom Electrical 35 04-29-2006 05:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.