Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-02-2012, 07:26 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 53
Share |
Default

Top plate not where it should be for new beam


I'm putting in a beam in my living room but top plate is actually upstairs in bedroom about foot from floor. How would I prepare for the new beam? Do I build a plate down to where it should be? How? Thank you in advance.

kgagnon7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 07:31 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,303
Default

Top plate not where it should be for new beam


I can not even figure out what it is your asking.
Why are you adding a beam?

A top plate is what's used at the top of a wall that the studs get nail to form the wall with a bottom plate at the bottom so no clue what you measuring to come up with that short measurement where the top plate is.

Got a picture?


Last edited by joecaption; 08-02-2012 at 07:35 AM.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 07:31 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 53
Default

Top plate not where it should be for new beam


So basically I can flash light up the wall to second floor. Its a 2x4 wall. The top plate that is actually upstairs in room wall is a double stacked 2x4's plate. I am building a beam of 5 2x6 sandwich with OSB between them.
kgagnon7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 07:35 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 53
Default

Top plate not where it should be for new beam


The beam is going middle of living room spanning across ceiling joists. But like i'm saying at the end in wall there is no plate. Its like studs are 10' from living room floor bottom plate to upstairs bedroom. It's a 8' ceiling height. Is this somewhat more clear?
kgagnon7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 07:37 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,303
Default

Top plate not where it should be for new beam


Is this a really old house? If so it may have ballon framing.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
mae-ling (08-02-2012)
Old 08-02-2012, 07:38 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 53
Default

Top plate not where it should be for new beam


Two story and basement. I have a sag in ceiling and upstairs floor trying to straighten. I will try putting pictures after work. Thanks for your time.
kgagnon7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 07:40 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 53
Default

Top plate not where it should be for new beam


Yes old house and balloon framing sounds right. Not sure. Think was built 1940's but possible older as there are additions not built like this and previous owners could a changed dates.
kgagnon7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 07:57 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,303
Default

Top plate not where it should be for new beam


Plaster and lath walls?

In most cases the wall needs to be opened up and jack studs installed that sit on the bottom plate, which in your case it may be something like a 4 X 6 to support the beam.

Depending on how much demo work your willing to do there's several differant way to fix this problum.
It would be best though to call in an engineer on this one so it's fixed right the first time.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 08:01 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 53
Default

Top plate not where it should be for new beam


Could it work to tie top plate with several 2x4 together width of beam down to another 2x4 across where beam will be than same thing below beam. ?
kgagnon7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 10:33 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 53
Default

Top plate not where it should be for new beam


Not the best photo will post others.

Name:  ForumRunner_20120802_113157.jpg
Views: 107
Size:  26.1 KB
kgagnon7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 10:34 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 53
Default

Top plate not where it should be for new beam


Not the best photo will post others.

Attachment 55133
kgagnon7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 05:02 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 53
Default

Top plate not where it should be for new beam


Here is another photo. It looks a bit messed up just cause there was an old window frame hidden. You get the idea no top plate on other side of those planks.

Name:  ForumRunner_20120802_180015.jpg
Views: 52
Size:  27.5 KB
kgagnon7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 05:50 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 53
Default

Top plate not where it should be for new beam


So i'm told by a contractor I don't need a top plate. The 2x6 joist that runs parallel to wall and actually nailed to wall is enough.

kgagnon7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main structural support beam HELP!!! Daniel048225 Building & Construction 34 02-16-2011 11:35 PM
How to repair main support beam Jerry48ece Building & Construction 0 01-08-2011 08:38 PM
Cutting into top plate. Clutchcargo Building & Construction 1 11-02-2010 05:59 AM
Can I attach a top plate to the central beam of the house? Leoskee Building & Construction 2 08-05-2009 09:19 PM
Top plate over header? zenman Building & Construction 6 08-05-2009 12:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.