DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Tile question

2K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  HandyPete 
#1 · (Edited)
Tile questions - going to start soon...

I have NEVER done tile before, but am willing to give it a go. We have to remove the surround in our bathtub and I was thinking about attempting to tile it.

My first step is going to buy a book on tile, but thats about as far as I have planned so far. Any recomendations/tips?

btw, how much can I expect to spend? It's just your average run of the mill tub/shower.

#2 ·
Price will depend on the tile you pick.You can get 4x4" tile for about $ 1.50 a sq ft.at the lower end. the upper end is what you decide. Prep work cost is the same. Straighten the walls if needed. Insulation and vapor barrier. Cement type backer board and tile. About 75 sq ft of tile, 5 concrete boards, 40 sq ft of insulation and some plastic and thinset. Should run you under $300. at the low end.
The plumbing is another thing. What's the age of the house? What kind of supply pipes? I've done baths from the '50's and '60's that the steel 2" drain pipes were barely open. Clogged with years of stuff stuck to the walls where there was barely the diameter of a finger for drainage. The only pipes I ever leave are the vent pipes. Galvanized and yellow brass pipes should be replaced if you have them.
The plumbing will depend on the houses age and what you should do.
Ron

#3 ·
The bathroom was just remodeled a few years ago, all new plumbing. The reason we are doing this is because the "handyman" who did the work didn't properly caulk the tub and we ended up with some water damage, so the surrond has to come out, as well as the drywall around the tub and the wall where the showerhead, plumbing, etc is. I figured that there is no better time than now to do tile!

#4 ·
There are a number of subleties involved with the substrate and the tiling, if you don't do it correctly, you will be tearing out your own work.