Thermostat Issue - General DIY Discussions - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2011, 07:08 PM   #16
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,231
Rewards Points: 2,372
Default

Thermostat issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron6519 View Post
This thermostat is a dual voltage unit. It has a switch to change from 110 to 220.
Was the switch placed on the correct voltage?
Ron
Ron
I looked at the installation/ user manual for this t-stat, there is no voltage selector switch.

Dconklin80

What is the rating of the baseboard heater that you are connecting to?

Is it greater than 3500 watts?

Advertisement

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 07:49 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat issue


240/208v 60hz
Watts is 500/375
Amps 2.1/1.8
Dconklin80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 08:15 AM   #18
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,231
Rewards Points: 2,372
Default

Thermostat issue


I am thing you have a bad heater unit (low resistance)or a short circuit or cross with ground in the wire from the t-stat to the heater. I see a bare ground wire at the heater junction but none in the t-stat box, is there a ground wire? You need a multimeter with a ohms function. With the power off, open the wire nuts on the white wires in the t-sat box and test toward the heater; you should see in the area of 100 to 150 ohms. Also test each individual wire to a known ground, should read infinity. If you get a bad rading there open the connections at the heater junction box and test the heater alone and the wire alone. I am thing that when you turn the breaker on you are drawing high current and burning up your new t-stat. The t-stat is rated at 3500 watts max, which is a little over 14 amps. What size is the breaker, it should be 20 amps if all the wires are 12 ga. or 15 amps if the wires are 14 ga.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina

Last edited by rjniles; 01-27-2011 at 08:18 AM.
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 11:00 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Thermostat issue


To test the heater itself for a short to ground (that can also blow up the thermostat) --- Label all the wire ends and disconnect the heater from the power wires completely. Using a multimeter (or ohmmeter) test for continuity between each of the heater wires and the heater frame. You should get no continuity, essentially infinite resistance in terms of ohms.

(Between the heater wires you should measure less than 100 ohms.)
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 02:40 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat issue


Great thanks for all that. As far as I know there is no ground wire in thr box. I did notice thst too. Ill try all your sugestions. Thank u.
Dconklin80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 06:20 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat issue


So just an update turns out the heater unit was bad. Once I got the replaced it stoppes blowing tstats. Thanks for the help.

Advertisement

Dconklin80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furance & AC Issue Lobley HVAC 6 09-12-2009 11:30 PM
Replacing thermostat...................... sktn77a HVAC 6 09-02-2009 11:07 PM
ac/furnace runs whatever thermostat settign donbohn HVAC 1 06-20-2009 06:42 AM
New Thermostat issues when cooling guimond777 HVAC 2 05-04-2009 11:46 AM
Oil Furnace - Swapping out to Programmable Thermostat slappy HVAC 2 12-05-2007 04:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts