Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-26-2011, 01:23 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat issue


I have just moved into a new house and noticed the thermostat for the living room baseboard heater was broken. I bought a new digital thermostat it said the wires were not polarized so either wire would work. After hooking it up I threw the breaker and the thermostat blew up. I then tested the line and it showed 240 and drawin like 1.4 watts. Could the heater be bad or wired incorrectly?

Dconklin80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 07:11 AM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,320
Rewards Points: 2,302
Default

Thermostat issue


Nope, no way. I want to see a picture of the thermostat, and the wires from the baseboard, because now you peaked my interest.

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 07:42 AM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,133
Rewards Points: 2,176
Default

Thermostat issue


Was the replacement t-stat line voltage (240 volts) or a low voltage (24 volts)? If you hooked up a low volage unit 20 240, it would self destruct.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 08:54 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Thermostat issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dconklin80 View Post
I have just moved into a new house and noticed the thermostat for the living room baseboard heater was broken. I bought a new digital thermostat it said the wires were not polarized so either wire would work. After hooking it up I threw the breaker and the thermostat blew up. I then tested the line and it showed 240 and drawin like 1.4 watts. Could the heater be bad or wired incorrectly?
You hooked up the wrong type thermostat to the electric baseboard. Did you make a note of the thermostat you removed? Did you notice that the wires connecting them were not low voltage wires?
I would stay away from repairing anything in the electric area until you have a more thorough understanding. Start by picking up one of those Popular Science or Black and Decker books.
Your current understanding of the subject will get you killed or you'll burn down the house.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 01:44 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat issue


I did make a note of the thermostat I took off. In fact after the first blew i went out out and bought an exacct to the one that was on there to have the exact thing happen. This isnt my first time doing this I posted because this was odd to me. Yes electricity is not my first pick to do but I know enough to be dangerous. Ill post some pics for the fella thats interested. The thermostat I had bought would accept no more then 16.7 watts and would go as high as 240 v
Dconklin80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 02:16 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Thermostat issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dconklin80 View Post
I did make a note of the thermostat I took off. In fact after the first blew i went out out and bought an exacct to the one that was on there to have the exact thing happen. This isnt my first time doing this I posted because this was odd to me. Yes electricity is not my first pick to do but I know enough to be dangerous. Ill post some pics for the fella thats interested. The thermostat I had bought would accept no more then 16.7 watts and would go as high as 240 v
If both thermostats,"Blew", you have a dead short somewhere. Find that first.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 03:18 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat issue


Thanks for the info ill look into that.
Dconklin80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 03:22 PM   #8
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,133
Rewards Points: 2,176
Default

Thermostat issue


Tell us what you bought- brand and model number.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 03:22 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat issue


Also isnt a little strange when these blow its not tripping a breaker?
Dconklin80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 03:24 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat issue


Rj im headed to pickup some paint ans when I get back to the house ill post all that info I know its a honeywell. Also will post some pics of baseboard heater and how its wired.
Dconklin80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 03:50 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Thermostat issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dconklin80 View Post
Also isnt a little strange when these blow its not tripping a breaker?
It might not be wired correctly in the box, or the wrong breaker is being used.
Is it wired to a double pole breaker?
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 04:56 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat issue


It is a double pole breaker.
Dconklin80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 04:59 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat issue


Theses are the pics wall baseboard and the first thermostat that blew
Attached Thumbnails
Thermostat issue-forumrunner_20110126_145625.jpg   Thermostat issue-forumrunner_20110126_145646.jpg   Thermostat issue-forumrunner_20110126_145714.jpg   Thermostat issue-forumrunner_20110126_145731.jpg   Thermostat issue-forumrunner_20110126_145749.jpg  

Dconklin80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 06:02 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Thermostat issue


This thermostat is a dual voltage unit. It has a switch to change from 110 to 220.
Was the switch placed on the correct voltage?
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 06:02 PM   #15
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,133
Rewards Points: 2,176
Default

Thermostat issue


Looking at the picture of the box that mounts the t-stat, it looks like the wires are not secured with a cable clamp and the insulated wires are rubbing on the metal box. It looks like the one on the right has some burn marks. The sheath of the cables should extend into the box and be secured and the conductors protected fro the metal edge of the box.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furance & AC Issue Lobley HVAC 6 09-12-2009 10:30 PM
Replacing thermostat...................... sktn77a HVAC 6 09-02-2009 10:07 PM
ac/furnace runs whatever thermostat settign donbohn HVAC 1 06-20-2009 05:42 AM
New Thermostat issues when cooling guimond777 HVAC 2 05-04-2009 10:46 AM
Oil Furnace - Swapping out to Programmable Thermostat slappy HVAC 2 12-05-2007 03:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.