Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2010, 08:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

teleposts thru heating duct


I am doing a kitchen reno and I need to install a telepost in the basement so i can remove a bearing wall. The problem is that the telepost needs to be placed in the center of the main heating duct(square one). Can I cut a round hole in the duct and so the post can pass thru? I would put a round sleeve in the duct to seal of the hole so I don't loose my air flow is this aloud and will it meet code.

suks2beme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 06:42 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 0
Default

teleposts thru heating duct


Quote:
Originally Posted by suks2beme View Post
I am doing a kitchen reno and I need to install a telepost in the basement so i can remove a bearing wall. The problem is that the telepost needs to be placed in the center of the main heating duct(square one). Can I cut a round hole in the duct and so the post can pass thru? I would put a round sleeve in the duct to seal of the hole so I don't loose my air flow is this aloud and will it meet code.
It would help if you were more detailed about the structural issue, as it may not require adding a post. Maybe post a picture of the kitchen wall and the basement area the pole would go.
How did you purpose to set the post on the floor?
Putting a pole through a duct would not be the way to do it.
Ron

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 07:44 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Rewards Points: 0
Default

teleposts thru heating duct


i'm thinkihg no to all your questions
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 07:52 AM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,155
Rewards Points: 64
Default

teleposts thru heating duct


Answer would be no. Did the engineer state that that is the place that it needed to go? If so, you will have to move the heating duct over.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 09:54 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

teleposts thru heating duct


You need to be able to access the top of the post to secure it in place
So the duct need to be moved or a new plan
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plywood heating duct ? willem HVAC 10 09-29-2010 07:09 PM
Capping un-needed heating duct? paredown HVAC 0 07-02-2009 06:26 PM
running gas line near or under heating duct NowItsShowtime Plumbing 1 03-26-2009 01:18 PM
Oh no...I dropped a piece of MDF into my heating duct. J187 Building & Construction 6 03-25-2009 07:58 AM
Is it alright for insulation to touch a heating duct? vetting Building & Construction 5 02-28-2009 02:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.