Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-01-2009, 12:10 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 146
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Telephone distribution question/


I want to put all the phone lines into one are in a distribution block. I want the easiest way to do it. I don't want to do a 66 or 110 block but want something that looks neat and makes my job a little easier. What do you recommend?
I would also like to distribute cable to several rooms. Thanks.

ingeborgdot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 06:51 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Telephone distribution question/


Not sure what you are looking for. A single phone lines requires two wires, each additional linerequires two wires. Phone lines used to come into the house as a 4-wire cable, not there are multiple pair cables or fiber-optic cable. They usually have a junction box on the outside of the house and are then routed to where they are needed from there. The cable can be daisey chained from location to location or individual cables run to each location. Running cable in new construction is easy, in existing construction it can be difficult.

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 07:08 AM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Telephone distribution question/


Quote:
Originally Posted by ingeborgdot View Post
I want to put all the phone lines into one are in a distribution block. I want the easiest way to do it. I don't want to do a 66 or 110 block but want something that looks neat and makes my job a little easier. What do you recommend?
I would also like to distribute cable to several rooms. Thanks.

Buy a cabinet and install a 66 or a 110 block inside of it. Only way I would do it.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 10:01 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Telephone distribution question/


Something like this?
http://www.fruitridgetools.com/store...id=8171&dfid=1
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 12:19 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Telephone distribution question/


I used one of these for the phone $2 at Radio shack. We only have 2 phones in use in the house. We may actually shut it off this year & use cell phones only

I connected all of one side together, then the other the same way
Then I brought in each line & connected to the block. I used some leftover 6 pair CAT3 cable I had. If I ever need the wiring for something else it's there
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 09:45 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: coastal georgia
Posts: 371
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Telephone distribution question/


Some good information here...

http://www.swhowto.com/
7echo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 04:13 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 146
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Telephone distribution question/


I want to use cat5e for future, if there is any future.
ingeborgdot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 09:31 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Westerm Mass
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Telephone distribution question/


Use a block called a krone block. You will need a special tool for this, but they are much neeter than a 66 block. a good installation and some neet and creative stapeling can go a long way. Beware of the type of block that scuba dave is recomending. I have seen many of thesego bad when there is moisture in the basement.
doin my best is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 10:00 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 146
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Telephone distribution question/


Here is what I went with.

http://www.openhousesystem.com/productImages/BH619.jpg

ingeborgdot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
hrv question indep HVAC 3 07-17-2008 10:39 PM
Basement vapor barrier question rob7young Remodeling 2 04-13-2008 09:10 AM
New service Question Onytay Electrical 1 10-24-2007 05:47 AM
One furnace question and one thermostat question lh0628 HVAC 4 10-11-2007 10:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.