Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-17-2009, 09:13 PM   #16
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,635
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

telagraph poles, how on earth do i put them in...??


Quote:
Originally Posted by shabba1985 View Post
wow that deep?
No kidding? London claims a frost line to 42 inches? I live on the American prairie in about two months the actual temp will be about 10 on good days with wind chills taking us down to as low as -30 or so. Our soil does not frost more than a few inches and the freeze depth of 42 inches is hopefully impossible. I also know London well. Just where within the city are you building this pole shed?

You would not be trying to waste the time of the people on this site would you?

user1007 is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 09:21 PM   #17
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

telagraph poles, how on earth do i put them in...??


if you have 30 foot poles and you are going to cut them in half and you are going to have 9 foot sidewalls, why bother cutting them again. Just plant about 5 to 5 1/2 feet in the ground so you have enough to cut off the tops inline with each other once you get them set.

deeper is always better.


depending on the soil type, you might really want to consider a concrete footer to support the posts.

to hold the posts up, once you get the corner posts set, you can tie each subsequent pole to the next one for side to side support and will only need to brace it for in and outward alignment.
nap is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 08:15 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 25
Default

telagraph poles, how on earth do i put them in...??


Quote:
Originally Posted by sdsester View Post
No kidding? London claims a frost line to 42 inches? I live on the American prairie in about two months the actual temp will be about 10 on good days with wind chills taking us down to as low as -30 or so. Our soil does not frost more than a few inches and the freeze depth of 42 inches is hopefully impossible. I also know London well. Just where within the city are you building this pole shed?

You would not be trying to waste the time of the people on this site would you?
waste peoples time??? I don't know about that... If you would really like to know my friend I am building this in a large adventure playground for kids, here it will be used for storage and teaching them how to do certain aspects of wood work amongst other stuff,

I should add... as we have no funding, we cannot use heavy machinery, but we have alot of man power/children power even ... so that is why i am cringing when i see 4 foot plus as we can not afford to bring in tools, but I am sure our digging will be worth it in the end.

Last edited by shabba1985; 12-18-2009 at 08:20 AM.
shabba1985 is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 09:27 AM   #19
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,683
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

telagraph poles, how on earth do i put them in...??


Quote:
so that is why i am cringing when i see 4 foot plus as we can not afford to bring in tools, but I am sure our digging will be worth it in the end.
Ayuh,... I donno what it's like on your side of the pond,...
I can rent a posthole auger for about $100. a day, or Less....
It's a 1 man unit, towed behind your car...
Bondo is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 09:42 AM   #20
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

telagraph poles, how on earth do i put them in...??


Quote:
Originally Posted by shabba1985 View Post
waste peoples time??? I don't know about that... If you would really like to know my friend I am building this in a large adventure playground for kids, here it will be used for storage and teaching them how to do certain aspects of wood work amongst other stuff,

I should add... as we have no funding, we cannot use heavy machinery, but we have alot of man power/children power even ... so that is why i am cringing when i see 4 foot plus as we can not afford to bring in tools, but I am sure our digging will be worth it in the end.
do some research on the Egyptians and the Amish. They used methods that will aid your building. With enough manpower, you can build...


well, you can build a pyramid 480 feet tall.

there are methods for planting tall timbers without power assistance and they aren't actually as difficult as you may imagine. Just use caution.
nap is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 10:11 AM   #21
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,254
Rewards Points: 2,086
Default

telagraph poles, how on earth do i put them in...??


First of all, I think the OPS is in London Ontario, not London England. Second, the assumption that all you have to do is get the pole below frost line to be stable is COMPLETELY WRONG. The poles will be subject to lateral loads due to wind load on the structure. The actual depth required is a function of the loading on the structure, the size of the poles, the soil conditions, and the connection details.

Constructing a facility such as you have to be used by children and adults based on uninformed advice from a DIY group is, in my opinion, a truly bad idea. You need professional assistance from an engineer who can evaluate the loads on your building, and determine the required burial depth and bracing required. If you cannot afford professional assistance, you may need to reconsider the entire project.
Daniel Holzman is online now  
Old 12-18-2009, 11:18 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 25
Default

telagraph poles, how on earth do i put them in...??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Holzman View Post
First of all, I think the OPS is in London Ontario, not London England. Second, the assumption that all you have to do is get the pole below frost line to be stable is COMPLETELY WRONG. The poles will be subject to lateral loads due to wind load on the structure. The actual depth required is a function of the loading on the structure, the size of the poles, the soil conditions, and the connection details.

Constructing a facility such as you have to be used by children and adults based on uninformed advice from a DIY group is, in my opinion, a truly bad idea. You need professional assistance from an engineer who can evaluate the loads on your building, and determine the required burial depth and bracing required. If you cannot afford professional assistance, you may need to reconsider the entire project.
thats true it parts, but... c'mon needing a structural engineer for a wooden shed on mud/grassland??... I am sure he would just say "oh, yes we need to dig 4 feet" reason being is: we don't have a heavy roof (plastic sheets), and most of it is just common sense, stuff I already know... but just double checking with you guys to see if I am on the right track, which I appear to be.
shabba1985 is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 11:50 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

telagraph poles, how on earth do i put them in...??


Actually the IP tracks to the UK - so London England

This is beyond the scope of a DIY project given its use
For liability & to protect the children that will be in this structure you do need Pro help
Not saying that you can't DIY, but its not a homeowner building a shed in his back yard

Thank you

Scuba_Dave is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
foundation, poles, telegraph, wood


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd subject: Bumpers for utility poles? jaes General DIY Discussions 7 08-19-2008 01:03 PM
New stove switch doesn't have place for earth wire warrickvdb Electrical 1 05-08-2008 12:18 PM
Polish flat - No earth! Sosh Electrical 3 07-10-2007 11:49 AM
3 phase anyone? Tomkah Electrical 3 01-05-2007 05:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.