Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-24-2014, 05:35 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 86
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Subwoofer Pre-out wiring


I was redoing electrical in some walls so I had my electrician snake speaker wire for 5.1. I'm having trouble getting my subwoofer to power.

- My receiver has 2 sub preouts, pre manual same output from each

- My sub has 2 line level inputs and 1 LFE input.

- I ran normal speaker wire to a terminal.

I tried splicing a cheap RCA connector to the wire to hook up one terminal to LFE but it won't power. I've verified the speaker wire in the wall end to end works with a regular speaker. I've run a mono RCA cable from LFE To the receiver and the sub works.

Is it possible to connect 1 sub preout to LFE over normal speaker wire?? Any solutions?

Thanks!

kjmass1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2014, 08:46 PM   #2
Member
 
Msradell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville Kentucky
Posts: 1,207
Rewards Points: 560
Default

Subwoofer Pre-out wiring


I think you're going to have to go to a forum where there are more audiophiles. Almost everyone here could tell you how to wire it but most of us aren't familiar with the needs of the equipment that you are talking about.

Msradell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 06:46 AM   #3
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,590
Rewards Points: 2,318
Default

Subwoofer Pre-out wiring


There is a Home theater forum on the main page, try it.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 10:53 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alberta
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Subwoofer Pre-out wiring


Try this:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1533091/is...ight-to-an-amp
northernlite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 04:31 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 853
Rewards Points: 820
Default

Subwoofer Pre-out wiring


For starters you need shielded cable. Regular speaker wire will pick up too much interference on low level inputs.

Second, was the sub properly plugged into an outlet?

Last edited by Bob Sanders; 05-26-2014 at 04:34 PM.
Bob Sanders is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 04:32 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 853
Rewards Points: 820
Default

Subwoofer Pre-out wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by northernlite View Post
AVS is great for electronics. Been a member for years... highly recommend it.
Bob Sanders is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 04:48 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 86
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Subwoofer Pre-out wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Sanders View Post
For starters you need shielded cable. Regular speaker wire will pick up too much interference on low level inputs.

Second, was the sub properly plugged into an outlet?

So theoretically you can't convert speaker wire to coax/mono rca ?

So I either need to run a coax, or get a sub that accepts speaker level inputs ?
kjmass1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 04:52 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Subwoofer Pre-out wiring


sounds like something is wrong with your splice.
Seattle2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 09:15 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 853
Rewards Points: 820
Default

Subwoofer Pre-out wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by kjmass1 View Post
So theoretically you can't convert speaker wire to coax/mono rca ?

So I either need to run a coax, or get a sub that accepts speaker level inputs ?
I didn't say that. You SHOULD be getting something. Wire is wire. That's why I asked if you actually made sure you plugged the sub in and it's getting power. Are you sure the sub is plugged into a wall out let and is getting power?
Bob Sanders is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 09:44 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 86
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Subwoofer Pre-out wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Sanders View Post
I didn't say that. You SHOULD be getting something. Wire is wire. That's why I asked if you actually made sure you plugged the sub in and it's getting power. Are you sure the sub is plugged into a wall out let and is getting power?

Yes correct. I ran an RCA cord to the LFE just to be sure and it worked fine. I have pretty thick 14 ga wire so I'm having a hard time finding an RCA plug adaptor to hook in to. I may just try and fish the coax and be done with it.

kjmass1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attic wiring - ceiling lighting uses 14/2 cable without ground darlingm Electrical 3 11-29-2011 09:01 AM
Backyard wiring questions MikeInDetroit Electrical 1 11-02-2011 09:46 AM
Landscape wiring question: GFCI and Breaker Amp MikeInDetroit Electrical 0 11-02-2011 09:43 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 06:45 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.