Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-26-2012, 11:02 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

Storm Door Wood Splitting

The wood frame that connects the hydraulic part of my storm door to the house is splitting. What is the best way to fix this? I'm not worried about the door falling off because it's still on hinges. Can I simply use longer screws hoping to hit the door frame behind the frame intended for the storm door? Sorry if this doesn't make sense...novice here. Hopefully the pics will help.

Gerard
Attached Thumbnails
Storm Door Wood Splitting-image-1425721241.jpg   Storm Door Wood Splitting-image-760961929.jpg  

gerardswork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 11:19 AM   #2
DIY staff

Rewards Points: 2,452

How right do you want to do this? Quick patch that works or complete wood replacement?

To short and to fat screws caused that----

Old 02-26-2012, 11:22 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 256

Quote:
Originally Posted by gerardswork View Post
The wood frame that connects the hydraulic part of my storm door to the house is splitting. What is the best way to fix this? I'm not worried about the door falling off because it's still on hinges. Can I simply use longer screws hoping to hit the door frame behind the frame intended for the storm door? Sorry if this doesn't make sense...novice here. Hopefully the pics will help.

Gerard