Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-08-2011, 09:42 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Stair Finishing questions

Hello forum, this is my first post but have been doing alot of reading on here. I am in the process of finishing my basement which includes a rec room with bar, washroom, utility room, storage room, etc.

So far I have competed the everything up to and including the drywall & paint my self. My next phase is to complete the stairs and drink ledges around the rec room.

That about sums up the progression, my question for this post is about stair finishing. I have chosen to build the stairs out of birch and have already purchased the solid treads, handrail, iron balusters, and newel posts. I have never done finish work on stairs before bit I have built rough stairs before such as those you see in my picture (see link). As you can see one side of the stairs is open to the room. I plan on doing a skirt board on the side exposed to this room and I was wondering if there was any special technique used to do the miter cut that will have to mate to each riser board. This cut I can see being a real challenge to get right for the 14 riser, I could probably pull it off for a few but for that many its not going to be easy.

Any suggestions on how this is normally done.

http://s90.photobucket.com/albums/k2...sement%20Pics/

Last edited by Newfiestang50; 01-08-2011 at 09:52 AM.
Newfiestang50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 09:59 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 75