Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-19-2007, 05:28 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 106
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Splicing cables


I have a safety cable on a lawn mower that has been cut. I've been trying to reattach it without any success. I've tried almost all the cable splicing gadgets they have at HD. The cable is 1/16th thick. I was wondering if it would hold if I used my MIG welder? Any suggestions?
Thanks

sluggermike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 09:15 AM   #2
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Splicing cables


Is it something that may be easier/better to replace than fix? A couple of options for wire rope: clamps and/or sleeves

RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 03:17 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 106
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Splicing cables


I'm having a problem finding the cable, otherwise, I would have replaced it. I've tried sleeves and clamps. Thanks
sluggermike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 06:53 AM   #4
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Splicing cables


guess then you don't have much to loose then...weld away!
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 12:39 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 276
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Splicing cables


It won't weld.

Go to a bicycle shop and pick up a universal cable.
Jeekinz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 02:39 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 106
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Splicing cables


Thanks for all your help. I was able to splice it with sleeves and it works fine.
sluggermike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 03:57 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,337
Rewards Points: 2,336
Default

Splicing cables


Check with your mower shop, due to they should either have the cable in stock, or be able to order one for you.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cables for fiber-optic TV mt232 Home Theater 3 04-16-2007 07:27 PM
How to mount cables on masonry wall without conduits? dave.murphy Electrical 5 01-24-2007 05:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.